Alarms

Alarm system

alarm registry

Contact

The Ottawa Police is committed to working together for a safer community. A properly installed and functional alarm system will enhance a residential or commercial property’s security. By reducing the numbers of unnecessary calls for service such as false alarms, it will enable police officers to focus on higher priority calls for service.

Tips to prevent False Alarms

  • Before activating your system: lock all doors and windows; keep pets, balloons, fans, heaters, plants, curtains, seasonal decorations, etc, away from motion sensor areas; know how to cancel the alarm if the system activates.
  • Before activating your system: lock all doors and windows; keep pets, balloons, fans, heaters, plants, curtains, seasonal decorations, etc, away from motion sensor areas; know how to cancel the alarm if the system activates.
  • Educate alarm system users: all users, key holders or any person with legal access to your property must be thoroughly trained in how to operate your system, including knowledge of procedures for cancelling accidental alarm activations.
  • Have your security company check and service your system regularly.  Routine maintenance can help prevent many false alarms.
  • Notify your security company if you plan any remodeling, including replacing doors or windows, changing phone systems, hiring domestic help or adding a pet to the family. 
  • Alarm owners and alarm companies must be responsible for the use and maintenance of alarm systems.  Don’t be part of the problem, be part of the solution.

Find out more about the benefits of registering your alarm with the Ottawa Police. The registration of your alarm system is voluntary but we do strongly encourage it be done.

Alarmes

Alarmes

inscrivez un alarme

Coordonnées

La Police d'Ottawa est résolue à tenir l'engagement énoncé dans sa devise: La sécurité de la communauté, un travail d'équipe. Un système d’alarme bien installé et en bon état de fonctionnement rehaussera la sécurité d’une propriété à vocation résidentielle ou commerciale. Par la réduction des demandes injustifiées comme les fausses alarmes, les agents de police pourront davantage se concentrer sur les appels de priorité plus élevée.

Conseils

  • Avant d’activer votre système, verrouillez toutes vos portes et fenêtres; tenez les animaux domestiques, les ballons, les ventilateurs, les éléments chauffants, les plantes, les rideaux, les décorations festives, etc, à l’écart des secteurs de détection du mouvement; sachez comment annuler l’alerte si le système est activé.
  • Éduquer les utilisateurs de systèmes d’alarme: tous les utilisateurs, détenteurs de clé ou toute personne ayant légalement accès à votre propriété doit être parfaitement au fait du fonctionnement de votre système, ce qui comprend une connaissance de la marche à suivre pour annuler un déclenchement inadvertent du système.
  • Assurez-vous que votre entreprise de sûreté fasse régulièrement la vérification et l’entretien de votre système. Une maintenance régulière peut aider à prévenir bien des fausses alertes.
  • Avisez votre entreprise de sûreté si vous prévoyez le remaniement de votre intérieur, dont le remplacement de portes ou fenêtres, des modifications à votre système téléphonique, l’embauche d’aide domestique ou l’adoption d’un animal de compagnie.
  • Les détenteurs de systèmes et les entreprises de sûreté doivent se porter responsables de l’utilisation et de l’entretien des systèmes d’alarme. Ne faites pas partie du problème, faites partie de la solution!

L’inscription de votre système d’alarme se fera dorénavant sur une base volontaire, mais cette inscription vous est fortement conseillée.