Introducing the members of the Community Equity Council

Posted On Monday October 29, 2018

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, October 29, 2018      3:00pm 

(Ottawa)—This afternoon, Ottawa Police Chief Charles Bordeleau will introduce the twelve community members of the Community Equity Council (CEC) at the Ottawa Police Services Board meeting.

The role of the Council is to provide advice and insight to the police on ways to improve and strengthen the relationships between the Ottawa Police Service and the many Indigenous, faith based and racialized communities or organizations in Ottawa.   

The community members are: 

  • Hector Addison, project coordinator at Somerset West Community Health Centre and founder of the African Canadian Association of Ottawa. 
  • Sahadatu Alolo works with the Multifaith Housing Initiative and is the secretary to the Ottawa Muslim Women’s Organization. 
  • Huda Alsarraj is a Human Rights Officer at the National Council of Canadian Muslims. 
  • Malik Ayass is Executive Director of The Door/La Porte Youth Centre. 
  • Teresa Edwards is the Executive Director and Legal Counsel with the Legacy of Hope Foundation.  
  • Hodan Egale is President of the Somali Canadian Youth Centre and works for the Ottawa Local Immigration Partnership. 
  • Gérard Etienne, a long standing leader in the Haitian Community is Associate Vice President of Learning with the Institute on Governance and is connected to the Pro-Active Education for All Children’s Enrichment. 
  • Debbie Hoffman, Service Director at the Ottawa Children’s Aid Society. 
  • Rawlson King, President of the Overbrook Community Association. 
  • Heidi Langille is a board member of the Inuit Non-Profit Housing Corporation and a longstanding member of the Ottawa Inuit community. 
  • Jalil Marhnouj, President of the Assunnah Muslim Association and Board Chair of the South East Ottawa Community Health Centre. 
  • Séverin Jr César Ndéma-Mousa is President of the North South Development Roots and Culture Canada.

Joining the community members on the CEC will be a number of members from the Ottawa Police Service: 

  • Steve Bell (Deputy Chief, Operations)
  • Mark Ford (Superintendent, Frontline)
  • Sterling Hartley (Superintendent, Training & Development)
  • Joan McKenna (Superintendent, Community Relations and Frontline Specialized Services)
  • Chris Renwick (Superintendent, Criminal Investigative Division)
  • Chris Rheaume (Superintendent, Support Services)
  • David Snoddy (Director, Community Development)
  • Ian Hayes (Staff Sergeant, Diversity and Race Relations)
  • Lisa Bianco (Program Manager Equitable Work Environment)

Three Elders representing the Indigenous people of Canada will also be supporting the Council: 

  • First Nation Elder Irene Compton
  • Inuit Elder Reepa Evic-Carleton
  • Métis Elder Jo MacQuarrie 

- 30 -


Media Relations Section                  

Tel: 613-236-1222, ext. 5366

Contact Us