Several of our OPS members were recognized for their expertise and dedication in 2018.



Acting Staff Sergeant Julie Mann was recognized by Ontario Women in Law Enforcement (OWLE) with the Leadership Award. This award recognizes exceptional professionalism in policing; including excellence at conflict resolution, demonstrated leadership, and a strong advocacy for colleagues to help them succeed in their own roles.












Sergeant John Kiss was honoured with the OACP Traffic Safety Award of Excellence for his dedication to furthering traffic safety initiatives. He has been instrumental in training our officers in Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFST) and has been an advocate for road safety his entire career.








 Manager of Court Liaison services, Dawn Jordon, was recognized with the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Prix Excelsior Award for Excellence in Teamwork. It is one of the longest running employee recognition programs in the Ontario Public Service. It recognizes above-and-beyond collaborative and customer service skills, as well as innovation and transformation. Dawn was instrumental in helping to develop a new e-Intake service that provided an electronic means of swearing to information. The concept, while still in development, will be the stepping stone to making more Court processes electronic.




Constable Lila Shibley was given the Police Professional Award at the Crime Prevention Ottawa award ceremony for her work in the community with the Newcomer Soccer League. Constable DeWayne Knight, who also won a Police Professional Award, was recognized for his work with youth impacted by street and gang violence.








In September, 13 members of our Communications (911) team were recognized for their outstanding dedication for more than 30 years of service. The Lifetime Achievement Platinum Award of Excellence was given to: Anne Marie Avon-Russo, Eva Burnett, Elizabeth Cochrane, Monique Garneau, Sylvie Juneau, Natalie Lacasse, Carole Lachance, Catherine Lacroix, Kathleen Laviolette, Joanne Lowry, Lise McMullen, Leslie Potter and Joanne Soltendieck, by the Ottawa Regional Contact Centre Association.


The Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) and the Canadian Advanced Technology Alliance (CATA) gave Sergeant Cameron Graham the 2018 Excellence in the Prevention of Cybercrime (EPIC) award for his concentrated effort to identify an unknown suspect who had been cyberstalking and harassing four families in the Ottawa area for years. Project Winter included collaboration with the RCMP, Vancouver Police, London Metropolitan Police and the Ferndale Police Department. The suspect was located and charged with 27 criminal harassment offences, 69 counts of identity fraud, and 85 counts of defamatory libel related to victims in the United States, United Kingdom and Canada.




The OPS was pleased to announce that Sergeant Michael Lamothe was invested into the Order of Merit of the Police Forces. This honour recognizes an exceptional dedication to policing by fostering relationships among police forces in Canada, and throughout the world between police and community. Sgt. Lamothe is currently embedded with the Ottawa Police Association, but has demonstrated leadership in the High Risk Offender Management section, where he developed a training curriculum and seminars for frontline patrol officers to better cope with mental health crisis situations. The curriculum is now used as a template for other national policing organizations. 

Constables David McKenzie, Amanda Budzinski and Anthony Carmo were recognized by Canada Post for their kindness and professionalism in response to a person in mental health crisis. The mother of the person in crisis works for Canada Post and the crown corporation created a stamp in honour of first-responders and unveiled it in September. It solicited its staff for stories about first-responders, and presented the plaque to the OPS officers, after hearing about their compassionate heroism to help someone in need.

Our Special Events Planning team was recognized with multiple awards in 2018. The first was the City Manager’s Award of Distinction for Constable Rebecca Vanderwater, Sergeants Darren Elder, Martin Groulx, Mark Nethercott, Staff Sergeant Kevin Kennedy, and Inspector Murray Knowles for their contribution with the city-wide Special Events Advisory Team (SEAT) in planning of more than 500 special events for Canada’s 150th birthday celebration. SEAT coordinated nine different city departments to ensure the safety and enjoyment of the more than 2.5 million attendees.

Additionally, the team was recognized internationally by winning the 2018 World Festival & Event City Award from the International Festivals and Events Association. Previous winners have included Sydney, Australia; London, England; Shanghai, China; and Reykjavik, Iceland.

Contact Us