Last year members of the Ottawa Police Service (OPS) were recognized for exemplary professionalism.

Three of our members were invested into the Order of Merit of the Police Forces. This honour recognizes an exceptional dedication to policing, by fostering relationships among police forces in Canada and throughout the world between police and community. Invested in 2019 were Staff Sergeants Debbie Miller and Roy Lalonde, along with Acting Staff Sergeant Steve Boucher.


Sergeant Jasdeep Singh Bajwa was recognized with the Sovereign Medal for Volunteers in 2019. This award is given to volunteers who have made a significant and continual contribution to their community by providing extraordinary help or care to individuals or groups.

Constable Aaron Reichert was presented with the Hero of the Year Award by the Police Association of Ontario. It was given to Cst. Reichert for his bravery and quick response while during a triple shooting in the ByWard Market in 2018.

Constable Sherry Jordan was recognized at the Ontario Women in Law Enforcement (OWLE) awards for her exceptional and ongoing engagement in community service. Front Desk Service agent Marissa Jeffrey took home an award for excellence in performance.

The rebranded OPS Cadet Corps received special recognition at the annual Crime Prevention Ottawa awards ceremony.