Bursaries and Scholarships

 Thomas G. Flanagan S.C. Scholarship

Thomas G. Flanagan S.C.

Each year, the Ottawa Police Services Board and the Ottawa Police Service, in partnership with the Community Foundation of Ottawa, have the honour to provide the Thomas G. Flanagan S.C. Scholarship to individuals who identify as women from racialized and/or Indigenous communities who express an interest in joining the Ottawa Police.

Scholarship funds are derived from an endowment arranged upon the 1993 retirement of the late Ottawa Chief of Police, Thomas G. Flanagan, S.C., in recognition of his distinguished and community-oriented policing career.

The scholarship provides an annual award of $2,000 that is drawn from the fund's annual accumulated interest. The Community Foundation of Ottawa maintains the fund. The award is subsequently forwarded to an accredited educational institution in the name of the successful candidate who has met the compulsory criteria and has been recommended by the selection committee, in the given year. There have been exceptions to this in previous years when the student's tuition was covered by other means and the award was instead used for school related fees. 


The Scholarship is administered by the Outreach Recruitment Team and supported by a volunteer member of the Ottawa Police.

For more information, email RecruitmentTeam@ottawapolice.ca.

Vince Bevan Bursary

former Ottawa Police Chief Vince Bevan In honour of former Ottawa Police Chief Vince Bevan's longstanding dedication and achievements with the Service, Algonquin College has created a bursary, given to an outstanding student upon completion of the second semester in the Police Foundation program. 

Please visit the Algonquin College website for more information.