Accessibility

Contact

The Ottawa Police Service is committed to meeting the accessibility needs of people with disabilities in a reasonable, timely and proactive manner and will use all reasonable efforts to provide equitable access to programs, services, goods and facilities provided by the Ottawa Police Service, in a way that respects a person's dignity and independence.

Statement of Commitment

The Ottawa Police Service is committed to meeting the accessibility needs of people with disabilities in a timely and proactive manner and will use reasonable effort to provide equitable access to programs, services, goods and facilities provided by the Ottawa Police Service, in a way that respects a person's dignity and independence. The Ottawa Police Service respects the principles, dignity, independence, integration and equality of opportunity for all persons.

The Ottawa Police Service further strives to identify, prevent and remove barriers while providing services that are accessible to all persons in accordance with the standards identified in the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA), the associated regulations and the Ontario Human Rights Code.

Purpose

This policy is intended to provide the overarching framework to guide the review and development of other Ottawa Police Service policies, standards, procedures and guidelines to comply with the standards developed under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act 2005, S.O. 2005, c.11 (the AODA).

The Ottawa Police Service respects the principles, dignity, independence, integration and equality of opportunity for all persons. The Ottawa Police Service further strives to identify, prevent and remove barriers while providing services that are accessible to all persons in accordance with the standards identified in the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA), the associated regulations, the Ontario Human Rights Code and in accordance with the Ottawa Police Services Board AODA Policy.

Application

This policy applies to all employees, volunteers, and to any individual or organization that provides goods, services or facilities to the public or other third parties on behalf of the Ottawa Police Service, in accordance with the legislation and the Ottawa Police Services Board AODA Policy.

Members shall obtain information pertaining to specific Accessibility Policy requirements by accessing the Ottawa Police Services Board AODA Policy.

The Ottawa Police Service is committed to meeting the accessibility needs of people with disabilities in a reasonable, timely and proactive manner and will use all reasonable efforts to provide equitable access to programs, services, goods and facilities provided by the Ottawa Police Service. This shall be done on an ongoing basis and in a way that respects a person's dignity and independence in accordance with requirements, policies, practices and procedures developed to meet the needs of  the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service (ASCS) O. Reg 429/07 and the Integrated Accessibility Standards (IAS) O. Reg. 191/11, related to the following:

  1. General Standards, applicable to: Accessibility Plans and Policies, Accessible Formats and Communication Supports, Kiosks, Training, Feedback and Documentation;
  2. Customer Service Standards, applicable to: Assistive Devices;
  3. Service Animals, Support Persons, Admission Fees, Communications;
  4. Notice of Service Disruption.
  5. Information and Communications Standards, applicable to: Communication, Terminology, Accessible Websites and Web Content, and Emergency Procedures, Plans and Information.
  6. Employment Standards, applicable to: Recruitment, Selection and Hiring, Employee Supports, Accessible Formats and Communication Supports for Employees, Workplace Emergency Response Information, Documented Individual Accommodation Plans, Return to Work Process, Performance Management, Career Development and Redeployment.
  7. Built Environment Standards, applicable to: Design of Public Spaces Standards.

Principles

Ottawa Police Service services, goods and facilities are to be available to people with disabilities in a manner that:

  • Is free from discrimination
  • Offers accessible formats and communication supports
  • Seeks to provide integrated services
  • Provides an opportunity equitable to others to obtain, use and benefit from the goods or services
  • Takes into consideration a person's disability

Accessible Formats and Communications Supports

Except as otherwise provided by the AODA, the Ottawa Police Service shall, upon request, and in consultation with the person making the request, provide or make arrangements to provide accessible formats and communication supports for persons with disabilities. Accessible formats and communication supports shall be provided in a timely manner, taking into account the person's accessibility needs and at a cost that is no more than the regular cost charged to other persons, in accordance with the Accessible Formats and Communication Supports Procedure.

This applies to all materials and communications produced by the Ottawa Police Service for release to the public whether produced in-house or on behalf of the Ottawa Police Service (i.e. consultant reports). It does not apply to unconvertible information and information that the Police Service does not control directly or indirectly through a contractual agreement.

If it is determined that information is unconvertible, the shall, in consultation with their manager, provide the person requesting the information or communication with: 

a)      A written explanation as to why the information or communications are unconvertible; and,

b)      A summary of the unconvertible information or communication.


Third Party Contractors

Purpose

The Government of Ontario enacted the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) in 2005, which sets out a clear goal and timeframe to make Ontario accessible by 2025.

The Ottawa Police Service (OPS) is committed to providing equal treatment to people with disabilities for all OPS services, programs, good and facilities in a way that respects their dignity as identified in the OPS Accessibility Policy. The purpose of this procedure is to set out the process for AODA training requirements for Third Party Contractors; which includes Consultants.

Scope

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA) Accessibility Standard for Customer Service (ASCS) and the Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation (IASR) requires that all OPS employees, agents, volunteers or otherwise, providing goods and services to members of the public on behalf of the Ottawa Police Service, as well as those who develop policies, practices and procedures governing the provision of goods or services to members of the public or other third parties receive accessibility training.

Third Party Contractor Accessibility Training

  1. In accordance with the requirements of Section 6 of the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service and Section 7 of the Integrated Accessibility Standard, third party contractors shall complete training about the provision of goods and services provided to people with disabilities.
  2. The training shall include a review of the purpose of the AODA, requirements of the Customer Service Regulation, requirements of the Integrated Accessibility Regulation and a review on the Human Rights Code as it pertains to persons with disabilities.

Training Confirmation

  1. Third Party Contractors must confirm completion of the required training by completing the Ottawa Police Service AODA Contractor Compliance form.

Access an e-learning course:

The training requirements can be fulfilled by completing the following e-learning training.

  1. Serve-ability: Transforming Ontario's Customer Service
  2. Training modules on the "Integrated Accessibility Standards"
  3. Ontario Human Rights Code as it pertains to persons with disabilities

Feedback

Comments on the manner in which the Ottawa Police Service provides its services to people with disabilities are encouraged and appreciated.

People providing such feedback are strongly encouraged to provide as much information as possible to the Service about the event/concern.

Feedback may be provided by:

  1. Mail:
    • Ottawa Police Service
      Attention: Accessibility Coordinator
      P.O. Box 9634, Station T
      Ottawa, ON
      K1G 6H5
  2. Telephone: 613-236-1222, extension 5561
  3. Fax: 613-236-9630
  4. Email
  5. In person
  6. Electronically using the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) Feedback Form

Accessibilité

Coordonnées

Accueil/Accessibilité

Le Service de police d’Ottawa s’est engagé à combler les besoins en matière d’accessibilité des personnes handicapées de manière raisonnable, rapide et proactive, et fera tous les efforts raisonnables afin de proposer un accès équitable aux programmes, services, biens et installations offerts par le Service de police d’Ottawa, dans le respect de la dignité et de l’indépendance des gens.

Déclaration d’engagement

Le Service de police d’Ottawa s’est engagé à combler les besoins en matière d’accessibilité des personnes handicapées de manière raisonnable, rapide et proactive, et fera tous les efforts raisonnables afin de proposer un accès équitable aux programmes, services, biens et installations offerts par le Service de police d’Ottawa, dans le respect de la dignité et de l’indépendance des gens. Le Service de police d’Ottawa respecte les principes, la dignité, l’indépendance, l’intégration et l’égalité des chances de tous.

De plus, le Service de police d’Ottawa s’emploie à identifier, à prévenir et à éliminer des obstacles tout en offrant des services qui sont accessibles à tous, conformément aux normes identifiées par la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), la réglementation connexe, et le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.

Objectif

Cette politique entend fournir le cadre global nécessaire afin de guider l’étude et l’élaboration d’autres politiques, normes, modalités et directives du Service de police d’Ottawa pour une conformité aux normes établies en vertu de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

Le Service de police d’Ottawa respecte les principes, la dignité, l’indépendance, l’intégration et l’égalité des chances de tous. De plus, le Service de police d’Ottawa s’emploie à identifier, à prévenir et à éliminer des obstacles tout en offrant des services qui sont accessibles à tous, conformément aux normes identifiées par la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), la réglementation connexe, le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario et conformément à la Politique sur l’accessibilité de la Commission de services policiers d'Ottawa .

Application

Cette politique s’applique à tous les employés, bénévoles, ainsi qu’à tout particulier ou organisme qui fournit des biens, des services ou des installations au public ou à d’autres tiers au nom du Service de police d’Ottawa, conformément à la législation et à la politique de la Commission de services policiers d’Ottawa relative à la LAPHO.

Les membres pourront obtenir de l’information portant sur des exigences spécifiques de la Politique sur l’accessibilité en consultant la politique de la Commission de services policiers d’Ottawa relative à la LAPHO.

Le Service de police d’Ottawa s’est engagé à combler les besoins en matière d’accessibilité des personnes handicapées de manière raisonnable, rapide et proactive, et fera tous les efforts raisonnables afin de proposer un accès équitable aux programmes, services, biens et installations offerts par le Service de police d’Ottawa. Ceci sera fait sur une base continue et dans le respect de la dignité et de l’indépendance des gens, conformément aux exigences, politiques, pratiques et modalités élaborées afin de répondre aux exigences des Normes d’accessibilité relatives au service à la clientèle (NASC) L.O. 429, chap. 7 et celles des Normes d'accessibilité intégrées (NAI), L.O. 191, chap. 11, en ce qui a trait aux éléments suivants :

  1. Normes générales, applicables à : Plans et politiques d’accessibilité, formats et services de communication accessibles, kiosques, formation, rétroaction et documentation ;
  2. Normes de service à la clientèle, applicables à : Dispositifs d’assistance ;
  3. Animaux d’assistance, personnes de confiance, frais d’admission, communications ;
  4. Avis d’interruption de service
  5. Normes d’information et de communication, applicables à : Communication, terminologie, sites et contenu web accessibles, mesures d’urgence, plans et information.
  6. Normes d’emploi, applicables à : recrutement, sélection et embauche, services de soutien aux employés, formats et services de communication accessibles à l’intention des employés, renseignements sur l’intervention en cas d’urgence en milieu de travail, plans écrits d’accommodement individuel, processus de retour au travail, gestion du rendement, avancement professionnel et redéploiement.
  7. Normes du cadre bâti, applicables à : Normes d’aménagement des espaces publics.

Principes

Les services, les biens et les installations du Service de police d’Ottawa doivent être à la disposition des personnes handicapées d’une manière :

  • Exempte de discrimination
  • Offrant formats et services de communication accessibles
  • Visant à proposer des services intégrés
  • Offrant à tous une possibilité égale de se prévaloir, d’utiliser et de profiter des biens et services
  • Tenant compte du handicap d’une personne

Formats et services de communication accessibles

Sauf disposition contraire de la LAPHO, le Service de police d’Ottawa devra, sur demande et en consultation auprès de la personne faisant la demande, fournir ou prendre des dispositions pour fournir des formats et services de communication accessibles à l’intention des personnes handicapées. Ces formats et services de communication accessibles devront être fournis en temps opportun, prenant en considération les besoins en matière d’accessibilité de la personne en question et à un prix n’excédant pas le prix imposé à d’autres personnes, en vertu de la Procédure des formats et services de communication accessibles.

Cela s’applique à toute documentation et communication produite pour publication par le Service de police d’Ottawa, soit produite à l’interne ou au nom du Service de police d’Ottawa (par ex., rapports d’experts-conseil). Cela ne s’applique pas à l’information inconvertible et l’information dont le service de police n’a pas de contrôle direct ou indirect par voie d’entente contractuelle.

S’il est établi que l’information est inconvertible, le préposé devra, en consultation auprès de son directeur, fournir à la personne faisant la demande de renseignement ou de communication : 

a)      Une explication par écrit des raisons pour lesquelles l’information ou les communications sont inconvertibles ;

b)      Un résumé de l’information ou des communications inconvertibles.

Demande de documentation du SPO en format ou par services de communication accessibles


Sous-traitants

Objectif

En 2005, le Gouvernement de l’Ontario mit en œuvre la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO) qui définit un objectif et un délai d’exécution clairs pour rendre l’Ontario accessible d’ici 2025.

Le Service de police d’Ottawa (SPO) s’est engagé à combler les besoins en matière d’accessibilité des personnes handicapées relativement à tous les programmes, services, biens et installations offerts par le SPO, et ce dans le respect de leur dignité, comme l’indique la Politique du SPO en matière d’accessibilité. Cette procédure a pour objectif de définir la marche à suivre, en vertu de la LAPHO, quant aux exigences de formation pour les sous-traitants, y compris les experts-conseil.

Scope

La Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), les Normes d’accessibilité relatives au service à la clientèle (NASC) et le Règlement sur les normes d'accessibilité intégrées (RNAI) exigent que tous les employés du SPO, agents, bénévoles et autres fournisseurs de biens et services aux membres du public au nom du Service de police d’Ottawa, ainsi que ceux qui  élaborent des politiques, des pratiques et modalités régissant la fourniture de biens et services aux membres du public ou autres tiers, reçoivent une formation sur l’accessibilité.

Formations des sous-traitants en matière d’accessibilité

  1. Conformément aux exigences de l’article 6 des Normes d'accessibilité pour le service à la clientèle et de l’article 7 des Normes d'accessibilité intégrées, les sous-traitants devront terminer une formation sur la prestation de biens et services aux personnes handicapées.
  2. La formation devra comprendre un examen de l’objet de la LAPHO, des exigences de la réglementation sur le service à la clientèle, des exigences du règlement sur les normes d'accessibilité intégrées, ainsi qu’un examen du Code des droits de la personne en ce qui a trait aux personnes handicapées.

Confirmation de formation

  1. Les sous-traitants devront confirmer l’achèvement de la formation requise en remplissant le Formulaire de conformité des sous-traitants à la LAPHO du Service de police d’Ottawa.

Accéder à l’apprentissage en ligne :

Les exigences en matière de formation peuvent être remplies en terminant l’apprentissage en ligne suivant.

  1. Module de formation sur le service à la clientèle 
  2. Modules de formation relatives aux Normes d'accessibilité intégrées
  3. Le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario en ce qui concerne les personnes handicapées

Rétroaction

Les commentaires portant sur la manière dont le Service de police d’Ottawa prodigue ses services aux personnes handicapées seront les bienvenus.

Les gens faisant part d’une telle rétroaction sont vivement encouragés à fournir au Service le plus de détails possible au sujet de la situation ou de la préoccupation en question.

Vous pouvez communiquer vos commentaires par les voies suivantes :

  1. Courrier :
    • Service de police d’Ottawa
      À l’attention du coordonnateur à l'accessibilité
      C.P. 9634, Succursale «T»
      Ottawa, ON
      K1G 6H5
  2. Téléphone : 613-236-1222, poste 5561
  3. Télécopieur : 613-236-9630
  4. Courriel
  5. En personne
  6. Voie électronique à l’aide du Formulaire de réponse - Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO)