Community Development

Community Development - officer engaging with youth in Ottawa.


The Ottawa Police understands that community development is a collective long term process. It is designed to establish trusting relationships, build capacity and sustainable partnership. It is based on connecting, consulting and collaborating with internal members and sections, community members and organizations, and community leaders for the advancement; betterment, empowerment, and enhancement of community and public safety. It is accomplished by identifying and mobilizing community assets, and by initiating the engagement activities. Furthermore, it is sustained by seeking commitment from internal and external stakeholders to create processes for mobilizing the community.

The Mandate of the Community Development Section (CDS) is:

  • To develop sustainable partnerships and engagement strategies within the community;
  • To work with communities, agencies and members of the organization to identify problems, opportunities and potential solutions.
  • To promote trust and confidence in policing by expanding and enhancing educational opportunities related to community policing.

Core Functions:

Partnership In Action (PIA):  is the Ottawa Police Service framework for public consultation and wider community engagement. PIA is more than a traditional consultative approach because it aims to identify and build upon community involvement and engagement within policing. Furthermore, it is intended to develop, enhance and maintain strategic partnerships

Community Policing Development: is the process by which police and other community members, partner to improve community wellbeing, safety and security through joint problem identification, analysis, response and evaluation. CDS provides ongoing support for OPS Community Police Centres in the areas of community engagement and mobilization, such as the coordination and management of the annual police week.

Community Engagement and Mobilization: is based on community support for whatever the process is trying to achieve. As such CDS provide support for actions and initiatives that police officers take to motivate and support community partners to deal more effectively with the root causes of crime and insecurity in their neighbourhoods. CDS provides expertise and support for Police actions that encourage participation of community members, building capacity, and increasing safety, security and well-being.

Words related to Community Development

Photo Gallery: CDS will appear here on the public site.

La Section du développement communautaire

Le développement communautaire

Contact

La Police d'Ottawa comprend que le développement communautaire est un processus collectif et à long terme. Il a pour objectifs d'établir des relations de confiance, d'accroître  les capacités et de former un partenariat durable. Il est fondé sur le rapprochement, la consultation et la collaboration avec les membres et les sections internes, les membres de la collectivité, les organismes et dirigeants communautaires pour l'avancement, l'amélioration, la prise en charge et le rehaussement de la sûreté publique et communautaire. Il est accompli en passant par l'identification et la mobilisation des atouts de la communauté, et par la mise en œuvre des activités d'implication. Enfin, il est maintenu en recherchant l'implication des parties prenantes internes et externes en vue de mettre au point des processus de mobilisation communautaire.

Le mandat de la Section du développement communautaire (SDC) est:

  • De former des partenariats durables et des stratégies d'implication avec et auprès de la collectivité;
  • D'œuvrer auprès des collectivités, des organismes et des membres de l'organisation afin de cerner les problèmes, les occasions et les solutions possibles.
  • De faire valoir la confiance et l'assurance envers la police et en élargissant et rehaussant les possibilités éducatives liées à la police communautaire.

Fonctions de base:

Partenariats à l'œuvre (PAO) est l'infrastructure dont s'est doté le Service de police d'Ottawa pour mener des consultations publiques et accroître l'implication de la collectivité. De plus, il vise à développer, à rehausser et à maintenir des partenariats stratégiques.

Le développement policier et communautaire est un processus où la police et autres membres de la collectivité s'associent afin d'améliorer le bien-être, la sûreté et la sécurité par la voie d'efforts communs d'identification des problèmes, d'analyse, d'intervention et d'évaluation. La SDC offre un appui continu aux Centres de police communautaire du SPO en matière d'implication et de mobilisation communautaires, avec, par exemple, la coordination et la gestion de la semaine annuelle de la police.

L'implication et la mobilisation communautaires sont fondées sur le soutien de la communauté envers l'objectif visé par le processus. Ainsi, la SDC appuie des actions et des initiatives auxquels les agents de police font appel pour motiver et aider les partenaires communautaires à lutter de manière plus efficace contre les causes profondes de la criminalité et de l'insécurité dans leurs quartiers. La SDC propose une expertise et un soutien aux initiatives policières qui encouragent la participation des membres de la collectivité, renforçant les capacités, et améliorant la sûreté, la sécurité et le bien-être généraux.

Mots clés en forme de nouage

Photo Gallery: CDS will appear here on the public site.