Our History

Old photo of officer with a bicycle

Contact

Over the years, a number of police agencies have operated in the National Capital Region. From the Bytown Association for the Preservation of the Public Peace (formed during the unofficial incorporation of Bytown in 1847), to various municipal police forces, as well as provincial and federal police agencies, the Ottawa area has a rich policing tradition.

Policing in Ottawa has continued to evolve to meet the needs of the community. When the town of Bytown incorporated and adopted the name of Ottawa in 1855, Chief Roderick Ross became the first Chief Constable. Life as an officer was not easy with their duties consisting largely of keeping public order - much of that involved liquor. Rather than earn a salary, the officers were paid $1 for every culprit they brought in. Since those humble and difficult beginnings, the Ottawa Police Service has evolved into today's highly trained and technically equipped service.

Women in Policing

The first Police Woman ever hired by the Ottawa Police Service was Flora Ann Campbell on December 31, 1913.

Born in 1883, Flora Campbell worked as a Probation Officer and Superintendent of the Women’s Hostel before becoming a Police Woman. 

Although her duties were supposed to be the same as those of her male counterparts, Flora Campbell was unarmed and did not wear a badge of authority or uniform.  And, while she was given arrest powers, she seldom made arrests.

Her actual role was dealing with charged women appearing in court.  In many cases where the women were first time offenders, charges were dismissed and Police Woman Campbell was tasked with helping them find employment.   Her approach towards women and the law was to resolve as many conflicts as possible without stepping into a courtroom (similar to the ‘Restorative Justice’ process today). As part of her position, she was also tasked with investigating allegations of child neglect or abuse.

Flora died in 1961.

Her years of service demonstrated the value of women in policing to both the Police Commission and the community.

Today, the Ottawa Police is proud to say that almost 40% of its employees are female, working in all sections of the Ottawa Police.

Notre histoire

Vieille photo de l'agent avec un vélo

Coordonnées

Divers organismes policiers ont été actifs dans la région au fil des ans. Depuis la Bytown Association 1947de Bytown pour le maintien de la paix publique (formée pendant la constitution non officielle de Bytown en 1847) et les diverses forces policières municipales de jadis, jusqu'aux organismes policiers provinciaux et fédéraux, Ottawa a une riche tradition policière.

Au fil des ans, l'intervention policière à Ottawa a évolué pour mieux répondre aux besoins de la collectivité. Consultez cette section de notre site pour vous renseigner sur les réalisations antérieures des services policiers dans notre région - notre histoire. 

La première policière Flora Cambell 1914

La première policière de l’histoire du Service de police d’Ottawa fut Flora Ann Campbell, engagée le 31 décembre 1913.

Née en 1883, Flora Campbell œuvra à titre d’agent de probation et de surintendante d’un foyer pour femmes avant de devenir policière. 

Même si ses tâches devaient être les mêmes que celles de ses collègues masculins, Flora Campbell n’était pas armée et ne portait pas d’insigne ou d’uniforme. Même si on lui avait accordé des pouvoirs d’arrestation, elle y avait rarement recours.

Son rôle réel l’appelait plutôt à s’occuper d’accusées devant comparaître devant les tribunaux. Dans bien des cas où il s’agissait de délinquantes primaires, les accusations étaient rejetées et la policière Campbell était chargée de les aider à se trouver un emploi. Son approche envers les femmes et la loi visait à résoudre un maximum de différends sans devoir mettre les pieds devant un tribunal, ce qui s’apparente à ce qu’on nomme aujourd’hui la « justice réparatrice ». Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, elle s’occupait aussi de faire enquête sur des allégations de négligence ou mauvais traitements à l’endroit d’enfants.

Flora mourut en 1961.

Ses années de service ont démontré la valeur des femmes dans la police, à la Commission de police comme à la collectivité.

Aujourd’hui les femmes composent près de 40% des effectifs du SPO au sein de chacune des Sections du SPO, y compris les équipes tactique et de plongée et le bureau de la direction générale.