Property

Whether it's taken as evidence at a crime scene or found abandoned on a street corner, the Evidence Control Unit catalogs and tracks every piece of property that comes into the custody of Ottawa Police Officers. The Unit strives to preserve and protect property by providing professional, proficient and systematic storage and handling of each and every piece of evidence or property that is entrusted to its care. One of the most common pieces of property we deal with is bicycles.

  • To inquire about a missing bicycle or to inquire about other stolen or lost articles, call us at 613-236-1222, extension 5238, or email us at property@ottawapolice.ca.
  • To report a found bicycle, call the Police Reporting Unit at 613-236-1222, extension 7300.
  • Get information about what to do, if you've lost your wallet.
  • Find out how to collect your property.

To help us with your enquiry, please have the following information available (if applicable or known):

  • make;
  • model;
  • colour;
  • serial number; and
  • the date the bike or article was lost or stolen.

Auctions/Unclaimed Property

Property without a known owner is stored for 90 days. Found bicycles are kept for only 30 days. If the property is not picked-up during the hold period, it may be sold or, depending on its condition, disposed of.

The Ottawa Police Service utilizes the services of Rideau Auctions as well as GC Surplus, which is the federal government organization responsible for the sale, distribution, disposal and re-use of surplus federal goods.

Currently over 90 federal Departments and Agencies dispose of everything from computers, office equipment, vehicles as well as military equipment like ships and planes through GC Surplus.

For more information, visit GC Surplus and Rideau Auctions.

Services de contrôle de pièces à conviction

Les Services de contrôle de pièces à conviction du Service de police d'Ottawa cataloguent chaque article saisi comme preuve sur les lieux du crime ou trouvé abandonné au coin de la rue et confié aux agents de police, et ils en font le suivi. La Section s'efforce de conserver et de protéger les biens par l'intermédiaire d'un service de manutention et d'entreposage professionnel, compétent et systématique de chaque preuve ou bien sans exception confié à ses soins. Les bicyclettes représentent la majorité de ces articles.

Pour poser des questions sur une bicyclette disparue ou pour vous renseigner à propos d'articles volés ou perdus, joignez-nous au 613-236-1222 (poste 5238) ou courriellez-nous à property@ottawapolice.ca.

  • Obtenez des précisions sur les démarches à suivre, si vous avez perdu votre portefeuille.
  • Découvrez comment récupérer votre bien.

Pour nous aider à répondre à votre demande, veuillez avoir en main les renseignements suivants (s'ils sont pertinents ou connus) :

  • la marque du produit;
  • le modèle;
  • la couleur;
  • le numéro de série;
  • la date à laquelle la bicyclette ou l'article a été perdu ou volé.

Vente aux enchères/Biens non réclamés

Les biens sans propriétaire connu sont remis au Service de police d'Ottawa, et les Services de contrôle de pièces à conviction emmagasinent ces biens pendant 90 jours. Les bicyclettes trouvées sont conservées pendant seulement 30 jours. Si personne ne passe prendre les biens durant la période de conservation, ces biens peuvent être vendus ou, selon leur état, éliminés.

Le Service de police d'Ottawa utilise les services de Rideau Auctions ainsi que du Centre de distribution des biens de la Couronne (CDBC), qui est l'organisme gouvernemental fédéral chargé de la vente, de la distribution, de l'élimination et de la réutilisation des biens fédéraux excédentaires.

Actuellement, plus de 90 ministères et organismes fédéraux éliminent toutes sortes de biens par l'intermédiaire du CDBC : ordinateurs, équipement de bureau, véhicules ainsi que matériel militaire tel que navires et avions.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez GCSurplus et celui de Rideau Auctions.

 

Contactez-nous