Violence Against Women (VAW) Safety Resources

There are a number of services available in the Ottawa region for you to access for additional resources and support. Click on any of the links on this page to be redirected to their website for more information.


Ottawa Rape Crisis 

The Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre (ORCC) supports and empowers trans and cis women, trans men, two-spirit, gender-fluid, and non-binary survivors.

Sexual Assault Support Centre

Provide survivor-directed support services by womyn, to womyn who have experienced sexual violence. We strive to increase public awareness and offer training on the issues and effects of violence against womyn.

Voice Found

Provides support and services to persons who have been sex trafficked or wish to exit the sex trade in Eastern Ontario.

Western Community resource Centre Violence Against Women Program

The VAW Counselling Program provides individual and group counselling to women aged 16 years or older who identify themselves as having been sexually, physically or emotionally abused by their partners or significant others (could be caregiver or other immediate family/household member). Services are delivered in person or over the phone. 

Eastern Ottawa Community Resource Centre Violence Against Women Program

The Violence Against Women Program offers services to women and children whose lives have been affected by abuse. This program is available to women and children residing in Ottawa and Renfrew County and is free, bilingual and confidential.

Sexual Assault and Partner Abuse Care Program Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus

For emergency medical services within six months of sexual assault and/or intimate partner abuse. Includes services to people who have suffered sexual assault, sexual exploitation, dating violence or intimate partner violence within the past six months. 24 hour emergency medical response is available on site at the Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus at 1053 Carling Avenue, emergency department. Outpatient services are accessible by self referral, referral by health professional and/or our community partners.  Call 613-798-5555 x 13770 to book an appointment.

Minwaashin Lodge

613-741-5590

Provides a range of programs and services to First Nations, Inuit and Métis women and children (regardless of status) who are survivors of domestic and other forms of violence, and who may also be suffering the effects of the residential school system. All programs and services are provided in the context of cultural beliefs and values to ensure a holistic approach is used as part of the healing journey. 

Tungasuvvingat Inuit

Inuit-specific service provider that provides social support, cultural activities, counselling and crisis intervention as a one-stop resource centre to meet the rapidly growing, complex and evolving needs of Inuit. Counsellors and advocates support women aged 16 and over, and their children who are involved with CAS and/or affected by violence. 

Immigrant Women’s Services

To empower immigrant and visible minority women in the City of Ottawa to participate in the elimination of all forms of abuse against women. To provide a culturally responsive crisis counselling service and a language interpretation service which will facilitate an abused woman’s access to community and mainstream services. To provide other services and/or programs that will assist immigrant women in their journey to attain their full potential.

CALACS

Le CALACS francophone d'Ottawa est un organisme féministe, géré et opéré par et pour les femmes. Dans ses revendications pour la justice sociale, il dénonce les agressions à caractère sexuel et lutte pour l’égalité et les droits des femmes.  Il offre une multitude de services aux femmes survivantes et il s’engage activement à la prévention et la sensibilisation dans la communauté

Ottawa Police Sexual Assault Unit:  Sexual Assault Survivor Guide

SAFETY RESOURCES

Neighbours, Friends and Families

If you are experiencing abuse from an intimate partner  the Neighbours, Friends and Family website provides information and describes steps you can take to protect your safety and the safety of your children,  as well as how to develop a plan to leave. 

Home Security Inspection

At your request, police representatives visit your home (house, condo, apartment, etc.) to provide a safety audit - assessing ways to make your home safer. The audit is based on a checklist, and participants are provided with a booklet that identifies safety improvements, provides crime prevention tips and promotes other crime prevention initiatives offered by the Police Service. 

Ottawa Coalition to End Violence: Online safety tips

Shelter Safe

To find shelters in Ontario serving women fleeing intimate partner violence

 

 


Ottawa Community Resources 

Walk in Counselling Clinic

No referral is required for the Walk-In Counselling Clinic. You will be assisted, with no appointment, on a first-come, first-serve basis during our Walk-In Counselling Clinic hours. The Walk-in Counselling Clinic offers counselling services in English, French, Arabic, Spanish, Somali, Cantonese and Mandarin at a variety of different locations. Clinic hours are available at different locations throughout the week, including evenings and weekends. Please see the link below to access the clinic locations and operating hours. 

Counselling Connect (For residents of Ottawa and the Surrounding Area)

Counselling Connect provides free access to a same-day or next-day phone or video counselling session. This service is for children, youth, adults and families in Ottawa and the surrounding area. There is no waiting list. 

Find Your Community Health and Resource Centre 

The CHRCs offer a wide range of programs and services that serve the needs of the community.  


Provincial Resources

Assaulted Women’s Helpline

The Assaulted Women's Helpline is a free, anonymous and confidential 24-hour telephone and TTY crisis telephone line to all women in the province of Ontario who have experienced any form of abuse. AWHL’s team of trained counsellors provide crisis counselling, safety planning, emotional support, information and referrals accessible 7 days a week, 365 days a year. 


National Resources

Canadian Centre for Child Protection

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety of children. Our goal is to reduce the sexual abuse and exploitation of children, assist in the location of missing children, and prevent child victimization.

Canadian Resource Centre for Victims of Crime (CRCV)

Provides support, research and education to survivors of serious crime and stakeholders in Canada

CRCV Guide for dealing with the Media 

National Office for Victims of Crime

Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime


Sudden Death Resources 

Government of Ontario Guide: What to do when someone dies

Office of the Chief Corner, Ontario

For information on Death Investigations and local Corners offices

Bereaved Families Ottawa

Provides peer support groups offer safe and supportive spaces to be in grief, to share and to learn. Peers help reduce the isolation that many people experience in grief, provide connection & living examples that healing is possible. Provides referrals to other community resources as well as private practionsers and literature

Roger Neilson House

Bereavement Support is available for families who have experienced the death of a child. We offer a safe and healing environment. Our philosophy is to accompany families through their grief journey.

Canadian Mental Health Association, “Understanding and Coping with Loss and Grief”

The Dougy Centre

Provides educational materials about children and grief.

Compassionate Friends

Support groups for families who have lost a child

Kids Grief

Is a free online resource that helps parents support their children when someone in their life is dying or has died. It equips parents with the words and confidence needed to help children grieve life’s losses in healthy ways.

Ressources en matière de sécurité

Il existe de nombreux services qui vous sont disponibles dans la région d’Ottawa pour accéder à des ressources et soutiens additionnels. Cliquez sur l’un des liens de cette page pour être redirigés vers leur site Web pour plus d’informations.


Ottawa Rape Crisis  (services en anglais)

Le Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre (ORCC) supporte et encourage les survivants qui sont des femmes trans et cis, des hommes trans, bi-spirituels, genre fluide et non-binaire.

Sexual Assault Support Centre

Fournis des services de soutien aux survivants par des femmes pour les femmes qui ont subi une violence sexuelle. Nous nous efforçons de sensibiliser le public et nous offrons une formation sur les problèmes et effets de la violence contre les femmes.

Voice Found

Fournis du soutien et des services aux personnes qui ont été victimes de traite à des fins d’exploitation sexuelle ou qui souhaitent quitter la traite à des fins d’exploitation sexuelle dans l’Est de l’Ontario.

Programme de lutte contre la violence faire aux femmes (VFF) du Centre de ressources communautaires d’Ottawa Ouest

Le programme de counseling pour les victimes de la VFF offre des services de counseling individuel ou de groupe aux femmes âgées de 16 ans et plus qui considèrent qu’elles ont été victimes d’agression sexuelle, physique ou émotionnelle de la part d’un partenaire ou d’une autre personne ayant un rôle important dans leur vie, comme un aidant naturel ou un autre membre du foyer ou de la famille. Les services sont offerts en personne ou par téléphone.

Programme contre la violence du Centre des ressources de l’Est d’Ottawa

Le programme contre la violence à l’égard des femmes offre des services aux femmes et enfants dont les vies ont été affectées par des abus. Ce programme est disponible aux femmes et enfants habitant Ottawa et le Comté de Renfew, et est gratuit, bilingue et confidentiel.

Programme de soins aux victimes d’agression sexuelle ou d’abus par un partenaire au Campus Civic de L’Hôpital d’Ottawa

Pour des services médicaux d’urgence dans les six mois suivant une agression sexuelle et/ou l’abus par un partenaire. Ce programme comprend des services aux personnes ayant subi une agression sexuelle, de l’exploitation sexuelle, des fréquentations violentes ou des abus par un partenaire au cours des six derniers mois. Une intervention médicale d’urgence 24 heures sur 24 est disponible sur place à l’Urgence du Campus Civic de L’Hôpital d’Ottawa situé au 1053, avenue Carling. Les services ambulatoires sont disponibles par auto aiguillage, référence par un professionnel de la santé et/ou par un de nos partenaires communautaires. Composez le 613-798-5555, poste 13770, pour prendre un rendez-vous.

Minwaashin Lodge

613-741-5590

Offre une gamme de programmes et de services aux femmes et enfants des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis (peu importe leur statut) qui ont survécu à la violence domestique et toute autre forme de violence, et qui peuvent souffrir des effets du système des pensionnats indiens. Tous les programmes et services sont fournis dans le contexte des croyances et valeurs culturelles afin d’assurer qu’une approche holistique est utilisée dans le cadre du cheminement de guérison.

Tungasuvvingat Inuit

Fournisseur de service propre aux Inuits qui offre un soutien social, des activités culturelles, des conseils et une intervention en cas de crise en tant que centre de ressource unique pour répondre aux besoins complexes en croissance rapide et en évolution des Inuits. Les conseillers et défenseurs soutiennent les femmes de 16 ans et plus et leurs enfants qui sont impliqués dans la SAE et/ou qui sont touchés par la violence.

Services pour femmes immigrantes d’Ottawa

Habiliter les femmes immigrantes et de minorité visible de la Ville d’Ottawa à participer à l’élimination de la violence, sous toutes ses formes, à l’égard des femmes. Assurer un service de counseling de crise culturellement adapté tout comme un service d’interprétation linguistique qui facilitera l’accès d’une femme maltraitée aux services communautaires et courants. Fournir d’autres services et/ou programmes qui aideront les femmes immigrantes dans leur cheminement vers la réalisation de leur plein potentiel.

CALACS

Le CALACS francophone d’Ottawa est un organisme féministe, géré et opéré par et pour les femmes. Dans ses revendications pour la justice sociale, il dénonce les agressions à caractère sexuel et lutte pour l’égalité et les droits des femmes. Il offre une multitude de services aux femmes survivantes et il s’engage activement à la prévention et la sensibilisation dans la communauté.

L’Unité d’agression sexuelle de la police d’Ottawa : Guide à l’intention du survivant d’agression sexuelle

Ressources de sécurité

Neighbours, Friends and Families

Si vous êtes victimes de violence de la part d’un partenaire intime, le site Web de Neighbours, Friends and Family vous procurera de l’information et vous expliquera les étapes à suivre pour assurer votre sécurité et celle de vos enfants, ainsi que la façon de développer un plan pour quitter votre partenaire.

Inspection de sécurité à domicile

Si vous en faites la demande, des représentants du Service de police d’Ottawa (SPO) se rendront à votre domicile (maison, condo, appartement, etc.) pour effectuer une inspection en sécurité et évaluer les façons de rendre votre domicile plus sécuritaire. L’inspection est effectuée à l’aide d’une liste de contrôle et une brochure indiquant les mesures de sécurité à prendre, des conseils utiles sur la prévention du crime et les autres programmes de prévention de la SPO vous seront remis à la fin de l’inspection.

Coalition d’Ottawa contre la violence faite aux femmes : Conseils sur la sécurité en ligne

Hébergement femmes Canada

Pour que les femmes qui cherchent à fuir une situation de violence puissent trouver un endroit sécuritaire en Ontario. 

Ressources communautaires d’Ottawa

Clinique de counseling sans rendez-vous

Aucune référence nécessaire pour la clinique de counseling sans rendez-vous. Vous serez aidé, sans rendez-vous, pendant nos heures d’ouverture, en ordre de premier arrivé, premier servi. Les services de la clinique sans rendez-vous sont offerts en français, anglais, arabe, espagnol, somali, cantonais et mandarin à divers endroits. Les heures de clinique sont disponibles à divers endroits tout au long de la semaine, y compris le soir et les fins de semaine. Veuillez consulter le lien ci-dessus pour accéder aux emplacements de la clinique et les heures d’ouverture.

Counseling On connecte (pour les résidents d’Ottawa et des environs)

Counseling On connecte fournit un accès à une session de counseling téléphonique ou par vidéo gratuite le jour même ou le lendemain. Ce service est pour les enfants, adolescents, adultes et familles d’Ottawa et des environs. Il n’y a pas de liste d’attente.

Trouvez votre Centre de ressources et de santé communautaire

Un CRSC offre une vaste gamme de programmes et services qui répondent aux besoins de la communauté.


Ressources provinciales

Assaulted Women’s Helpline

Assaulted Women’s Helpline est une ligne téléphonique 24 heures sur 24 gratuite, anonyme et confidentielle, et est une ligne téléphonique ATS de crise pour toutes les femmes dans la province de l’Ontario qui ont été victimes de toute forme de violence. L’équipe de conseillers formés de AWHL offre des conseils en cas de crise, de planification de la sécurité, de soutien émotionnel, d’information et de recommandations disponibles 7 jours sur 7, 365 jours par année.


Ressources nationales

Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance est un organisme de bienfaisance national voué à la sécurité personnelle des enfants. Notre objectif est de réduire les abus sexuels et l’exploitation des enfants, d’aider à retrouver les enfants disparus et de prévenir la victimisation des enfants.

Centre canadien de ressources pour les victimes de crimes (CCRVC)

Offre du soutien, des services de recherche et d’éducation aux survivants ainsi qu’aux parties intervenantes au Canada.

Guide d’interaction avec les médias du CCRVC

Bureau national pour les victimes d’actes criminels

Bureau de l’ombudsman fédéral des victimes d’actes criminels


Ressources de mort subite

Guide du Gouvernement de l’Ontario : Que faire lorsque quelqu’un décède

Bureau du coroner en chef, Ontario

Pour de l’information sur les enquêtes de décès et les bureaux locaux des coroners.

Familles endeuillées d’Ottawa

Offre des groupes de soutien par les pairs dans un environnement de confiance pour être en deuil, partager et apprendre. Les pairs aident à réduire l’isolation que plusieurs personnes peuvent éprouver durant le deuil, ils fournissent des connexions et sont des exemples vivants que la guérison est possible. L’organisme fournit des recommandations à d’autres ressources communautaires ainsi qu’à des praticiens privés et de la littérature.

La maison Roger Neilson

Des services de soutien aux personnes endeuillées sont offerts aux familles qui ont vécu la perte d’un enfant. Nous offrons un environnement de guérison sécuritaire, et notre philosophie vise à accompagner les familles tout au long de leur processus de deuil.

Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, « Comprendre et vivre une perte et un deuil »

The Dougy Centre (anglais)

Fournis du matériel éducatif sur les enfants et le deuil.

Compassionate Friends (anglais)

Groupes de soutien pour les familles qui ont perdu un enfant.

Deuil des Enfants

C’est un site gratuit qui explique aux parents comment accompagner leurs enfants chagrinés par la mort prochaine ou le décès d’un être cher. Il aide les parents à trouver les bons mots et la confiance nécessaire pour aider leurs enfants à vivre sainement leur deuil.