Victim-Survivor Support Services

If you are a victim/surivivor of crime, there are a number of services available to help you manage your safety, provide emotional support, as well as information on potential financial supports.  

Victim Support Line   

If you are a Victim you can register to receive specific information about adult offenders.

The toll free number for the VSL is 1-888-579-2888, or 416-314-2447 in the Toronto area. The automated notification system will provide victims with information on offenders serving their sentences.

  • An offender has been admitted to or released from custody
  • An offender is unlawfully at large
  • A parole hearing date has been set
  • The OPB decides to deny Parole; The OPB decides to grant Parole
  • An offender is under unescorted temporary absence
  • A release decision has been rescinded
  • The unlikely event of an escape happens
  • An offender is readmitted to custody
  • An offender is transferred to another jurisdiction.

Ottawa Victim Services

613-238-2762

Ottawa Victim Services (OVS) provides emotional support, practical assistance, referrals and advocacy to individuals who have been victimized as a result of a crime or tragic circumstance, without judgment in order to lessen the impact of victimization. OVS is a community-based agency committed to treating individuals with courtesy, compassion and with respect for their dignity, privacy and diversity.

WEBSITE: https://www.ovs-svo.com

Assaulted Women’s Helpline

1-866-863-0511

The Assaulted Women's Helpline is a free, anonymous and confidential 24-hour telephone and TTY crisis telephone line to all women in the province of Ontario who have experienced any form of abuse. AWHL’s team of trained counsellors provide crisis counselling, safety planning, emotional support, information and referrals accessible 7 days a week, 365 days a year. 

WEBSITE: https://www.awhl.org/contact-us

Office for Victims of Crime

The Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) is an independent advisory agency that provides advice to the Attorney General of Ontario on victims’ issues.

WEBSITE: http://www.ovc.gov.on.ca/about-the-ovc/

The OVC also produces a handbook called “ Have You Been a Victim of Crime? What’s next…Information and Resources for Victims of Crime in Ontario:”  This handbook is produced for victims of crime and the people who support them. It includes information about victims’ rights, places to go for help, and the criminal justice system. This information will help victims understand what to expect and how to ensure their rights are respected. You can access this link to get a copy of the handbook.

CAVACS Gatineau

Crime Victims Assistance Centres, or CAVACs, offer front-line services to any crime victim or witness. Help from CAVACs is available whether the perpetrator of the crime has been identified, apprehended, prosecuted or convicted.

WEBSITE: https://cavac.qc.ca/en/

 FINANCIAL SERVICES

The Victim Quick Response Program + (VQRP) 

The Ottawa Police service Victim Crisis unit can assist with connecting victims of crime to the VQRP +  Provincial program which provides eligible victims with emergency funds for certain expenses immediately following a violent crime. The Victim Quick Response Program provides short-term financial support toward essential expenses for victims, their immediate family members and witnesses in the immediate aftermath of a violent crime to help reduce the impact of the crime, enhance safety and meet immediate practical needs that are a result of the crime. VQRP+ is available to individuals who have no other financial means (e.g. private insurance) where there is no publicly-funded program available. 

The program is also accessible through Ottawa Victims Services at 613-238-2762

https://ovs-svo.com/

Eligible applicants can access supports for critical needs such as:

  • Emergency home safety expenses (e.g. window repair)
  • Practical assistance expenses (e.g. basic necessities)
  • Travel and related expenses (e.g. to medical treatment)
  • Crime scene clean-up (e.g. removal of hate-crime graffiti)
  • Short-term counselling services
  • Supports required for serious injuries
  • Basic funeral expenses and other financial support for families of homicide victims

Parents of Murdered or Missing Children – Income Support Grant

The death or disappearance of a child is devastating and can leave parents unable to work. Parents or legal guardians who have taken time away from work and suffered a loss of income to cope with the murder or disappearance of their child or children may be eligible for federal income support of $350 per week.

Website:  www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/services/parents-murdered- missing-children.html

toll-free: 1-800-622-6232 TTY: 1-800-926-9105


Court Support Services

Click on any of the links below for more information about available programs.

The Victim/Witness Assistance Program

Ottawa Courthouse, 161 Elgin St Fourth Floor, Ottawa | 613-239-1229

If you are a victim or witness of a violent crime, it is likely that you will need to go to court. This can be a difficult and confusing experience and you may have a lot of questions about the criminal court system, and what will be expected of you. The Victim/Witness Assistance

Program (V/WAP) is a service provided on a priority basis to victims and witnesses of violent crimes, vulnerable victims such as domestic violence, child abuse, sexual assault, elder abuse, homicide and hate crimes. The services begin once police have laid charges and will continue until the court case is over. In addition, victims with special needs families of victims of homicide families of victims of traffic fatalities resulting in criminal charges.

Child and Youth Witness Support Program  

The Child Victim/Witness Program offers support and services to child victims and witnesses during the criminal court process.

This program provides support to children and youth (and their families) who are required to provide testimony in criminal court.

Services include: 

  • Preparing children for court (includes court procedures, roles of court personnel, courtroom tours etc.)
  • Communicating with Crown attorneys, defence lawyers, and other justice personnel
  • Accompanying children to court
  • Support for parents and guardians of the youth and children
  • Help with victim impact statements and other
  • Service referrals
  • Post-court follow-ups

Contact information:  To access child and youth witness support services or if you would like more information, please contact the Support Worker by telephone at 613-233-8478 or by TTY at 613-233 1866.

Services de soutien aux victimes et aux survivants

Si vous êtes victime ou survivant d’un crime, il existe de nombreux services disponibles qui peuvent vous aider à gérer votre sécurité, vous fournir un support émotionnel ainsi que de l’information sur les soutiens financiers potentiels.

Ligne de soutien aux victimes

Si vous êtes une victime, vous pouvez vous inscrire pour recevoir de l’information précise sur les délinquants adultes.

Le numéro sans frais de cette ligne est le 1-888-579-2888 ou le 416-314-2447 si vous êtes dans la région de Toronto. Le système automatisé de notification fournira aux victimes de l’information sur les délinquants purgeant leur peine.

  • Un délinquant a été admis ou remis en liberté
  • Un délinquant est illégalement en liberté
  • Une date d’audience de libération conditionnelle a été fixée
  • La Commission ontarienne des libérations conditionnelles (COLC) décide de refuser la libération conditionnelle ; la COLC décide d’accorder la libération conditionnelle
  • Un délinquant est en absence temporaire sans surveillance
  • Une décision de mise en liberté a été annulée
  • L’événement improbable d’une évasion se produit
  • Un délinquant est réadmis en détention
  • Un délinquant est transféré dans une autre juridiction

Services aux victimes d’Ottawa

613-238-2762

Les Services aux victimes d’Ottawa (SVO) fournissent un soutien émotionnel, une assistance pratique, des recommandations et une défense des intérêts aux individus qui ont été victimes de crime ou de circonstance tragique, sans jugement, afin d’alléger les effets de la victimisation. SVO est un service communautaire dévoué à traiter les individus avec courtoisie, compassion et avec respect de leur dignité, confidentialité et diversité.

SITE WEB : https://www.ovs-svo.com/fr

Assaulted Women’s Helpline (Services en anglais)

1-866-863-0511

Assaulted Women’s Helpline est une ligne téléphonique 24 heures sur 24 gratuite, anonyme et confidentielle, et est une ligne téléphonique ATS de crise pour toutes les femmes dans la province de l’Ontario qui ont été victimes de toute forme de violence. L’équipe de conseillers formés de AWHL offre des conseils en cas de crise, de planification de la sécurité, de soutien émotionnel, d’information et de recommandations disponibles 7 jours sur 7, 365 jours par année.

SITE WEB : https://www.awhl.org/contact-us

Pour des services en français dans la province de l’Ontario, veuillez contacter FEM’AIDE : https://femaide.ca/
1-877-336-2433
1-866-860-7082 (ATS)

Office des affaires des victimes d’actes criminels

L’Office des affaires des victimes d’actes criminels (OAVAC) est un organisme consultatif indépendant qui fournit des conseils au procureur général de l’Ontario sur les questions relatives aux victimes d’actes criminels.

SITE WEB : https://www.ovc.gov.on.ca/about-the-ovc/?lang=fr

L’OAVAC produit également un guide appelé « Avez-vous Été Victime D’un Acte Criminel ? Que faire… Information et ressources à l’intention des victimes d’actes criminels en Ontario ». Ce guide s’adresse aux victimes d’actes criminels et aux personnes qui les aident. Il comprend de l’information sur les droits des victimes, sur les lieux où trouver de l’aide et sur le système de justice pénale. Ces informations aideront les victimes à comprendre ce qui les attend, et comment faire valoir leurs droits. Vous pouvez accéder à ce lien pour obtenir une copie de ce guide.

CAVACS Gatineau

Le Centre d’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels, ou CAVAC, offre des services de première ligne à toute personne victime d’un acte criminel et à ses proches, ainsi qu’aux témoins d’un acte criminel. L’aide des CAVAC est disponible que l’auteur du crime soit ou non identifié, arrêté, poursuivi ou reconnu coupable.

SITE WEB : https://cavac.qc.ca/

Services financiers

Le Programme d’intervention rapide + auprès des victimes (PIRV+)

L’Unité de soutien aux victimes du Service de Police d’Ottawa peut aider à mettre en contact les victimes d’actes criminels au programme provincial PIRV+ qui fournit aux victimes admissibles des fonds d’urgence pour certaines dépenses immédiates à la suite un acte criminel violent. Le Programme d’intervention rapide fournit de l’aide financière à court terme pour couvrir les dépenses essentielles des victimes, des membres de leur famille et des témoins tout de suite après la perpétration d’un acte criminel violent. Le programme permet d’atténuer les répercussions de l’acte criminel, de renforcer la sécurité des victimes et de répondre à leurs besoins pratiques immédiats. Les soutiens offerts sont destinés à répondre à des besoins de base et essentiels, par exemple une assurance privée, qu’aucun autre programme ne couvre.

Le programme est également accessible par l’entremise des Services aux Victimes d’Ottawa au 613-238-2762

https://ovs-svo.com/fr

Les personnes admissibles peuvent obtenir des fonds pour couvrir des dépenses immédiates et urgentes, dont les suivantes :

  • Sécurité du domicile (p. ex., réparations de fenêtres) ;
  • Besoins pratiques (p. ex., nécessités de base) ;
  • Frais de déplacement et dépenses connexes (p. ex., pour obtenir un traitement médical) ;
  • Nettoyage des lieux du crime (p. ex., nettoyage de graffitis haineux) ;
  • Services de counseling de courte durée ;
  • Soutiens en cas de blessures graves ;
  • Frais d’obsèques de base et autre aide financière pour les familles de victimes d’homicide.

Parents d’enfants assassinés ou disparus — Subvention de soutien du revenu

Le décès ou la disparition d’un enfant est dévastateur et peut rendre les parents qui sont incapables de travailler. Les parents ou tuteurs légaux qui se sont absentés du travail et qui ont subi une perte de revenu pour surmonter les difficultés liées au décès ou à la disparition de leur enfant peuvent être admissibles à un soutien du revenu fédéral de 350 $ par semaine.

Site Web : https://www.canada.ca/fr/emploi-developpement-social/services/parents-jeunes-victimes-crimes.html

Numéro sans frais : 1-800-622-6232 ATS : 1-800-926-9105


Services de soutien aux tribunaux

Cliquez sur l’un des liens ci-dessous pour plus d’informations sur les programmes disponibles

Programme d’aide aux victimes et aux témoins

Palais de justice d’Ottawa, 161, rue Elgin, 4e étage, Ottawa | 613-239-1229

Si vous êtes victime ou témoin d’un acte criminel violent, il est probable que vous devrez vous rendre au tribunal. Cela peut être une expérience difficile et déroutante, et vous pourriez avoir de nombreuses questions sur le système judiciaire criminel et sur ce que l’on attend de vous.

Le programme d’aide aux victimes et aux témoins (V/WAP) est un service offert par ordre de priorité aux victimes et témoins vulnérables d’un acte de violence criminel, comme la violence familiale, des mauvais traitements envers un enfant ou une personne âgée, un homicide et crime haineux. Les services débutent au moment où la police porte des accusations et continueront jusqu’au règlement de la cause devant la cour. En outre, nous aidons les victimes ayant des besoins particuliers, les familles de victimes d’homicide et les familles d’accidents de la route mortels qui ont abouti à des accusations criminelles.

Programme de soutien pour enfants et adolescents témoins

Le programme de soutien pour enfants et adolescents offre un soutien et des services aux enfants et adolescents victimes et témoins pendant la procédure judiciaire.

Ce programme apporte un soutien aux enfants et aux adolescents victimes et témoins (et leurs familles) qui sont tenus de témoigner lors d’un procès criminel.

Services offerts :

  • Familiarisation des enfants/ados avec le processus judiciaire (procédures, rôles du personnel judiciaire, visites guidées de la salle d’audience du palais de justice, etc.) ;
  • Communication avec les procureurs de la Couronne, les avocats de la Défense et autres membres du personnel judiciaire ;
  • Accompagnement et soutien des jeunes au tribunal même ;
  • Soutien aux parents et tuteurs des jeunes ;
  • Assistance pour remplir les Déclarations de la victime et autres formulaires et demandes ;
  • Services d’aiguillage ;
  • Suivi après la fin du procès.

Coordonnées : Pour accéder aux services de soutien pour enfants et adolescents témoins ou si vous désirez obtenir plus d’informations, veuillez communiquer avec la conseillère par téléphone au 613-233-8478 ou par l’ATS au 613-233 1866.