Crime Prevention

While the OPS’s frontline focus is responding to calls for emergency services, equally important is what we provide as preventative measures to enhance the security of your community.

In November, our Crime Prevention unit hosted the annual Crime Prevention Week, in coordination with Crime Prevention Ottawa’s community police award ceremony.

At the event, hosted November 5 at City Hall, two of our officers were awarded the Police Professional Award for the service they provided to our communities. Constable Lila Shibley was recognized for organizing a Newcomer Soccer League and Constable DeWayne Knight was recognized for his work with youth impacted by street and gang violence. Additionally, our Community Police Officers (CPOs) hosted information booths at area malls across the city during the week, helping to engage residents on ways they could further enhance the safety of their homes and businesses. OPS CPOs, along with our volunteers, offer free in-home inspections year-round, providing an assessment of a resident’s property and giving suggestions on simple things they can do to secure their homes.

Crime Stoppers continues to be a valuable partner in helping the OPS resolve case files. In 2018, Crime Stoppers assisted with 146 criminal charges being laid, recovering almost $500,000 in narcotics, and clearing 33 OPS cases. The anonymous reporting system offers financial rewards to residents who provide information that assists police in resolving criminal cases.

The Neighbourhood Watch program began its search for new leadership after its president and director-at-large stepped down. The program has been incredibly successful in Ottawa, with 33 new chapters started up in 2018. It offers a simple way for residents to get involved in enhancing the cohesion of their neighbourhoods by encouraging residents to get to know one another and look out for each other.

Our Crime Free Multi-Housing Program (CFMHP) members continued to work with 14 participating landlords to help enhance the safety of rental properties in the city. CFMHP conducted 283 inspections in 2018 to ensure that these buildings met safety standards, enhancing the lives of those who live there.

Additionally, our Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design (CPTED) officer assessed 34 properties and 51 building site plans in order to help businesses and residences augment their safety with simple changes to reduce incidence of crime. CPTED also hosted the annual CPTED and Transit conference on May 10, which focused on security for public transit and the upcoming LRT system.

 

Contact Us

Prévention du crime

Alors que l’objectif principal du SPO est de répondre aux appels de service urgents, il est aussi important que nous appliquions des mesures préventives pour améliorer la sécurité de la collectivité.

Au mois de novembre, notre Unité de prévention des crimes a tenu la semaine annuelle de prévention des crimes, coordonnée à la Cérémonie de remise des prix de la police communautaire de prévention du crime Ottawa.

Au cours de l’événement qui s’est tenu le 5 novembre dernier à la ville d’Ottawa, deux de nos agents ont reçu le prix professionnel de la police pour les services rendus à la collectivité. L’agente Lila Shibley a été nominée pour avoir organisé une ligue de soccer et l’agent DeWayne Knight a été reconnu pour son travail avec les jeunes victimes des bandes et de la violence dans les rues. De plus, nos agents de la communautaire policière (ACP) ont tenu des kiosques d’information dans les centres commerciaux de la ville durant la semaine afin de fournir aux résidents des idées sur la manière dont ils pourraient augmenter la sécurité autour de leur maison ainsi que sur leur lieu de travail. Des ACP du SPO et des volontaires ont pris la décision d’offrir des inspections de domicile à l’année afin d’évaluer la propriété des résidents et de suggérer des modifications simples qui pourraient être apportées pour sécuriser davantage les lieux.

Échec au crime continue d’être un partenaire de choix dans la résolution des dossiers du SPO. En 2018, Échec au crime a contribué à déposer 146 accusations criminelles, à saisir environ 500 000 $ de narcotiques et à fermer 33 dossiers du SPO. Le système anonyme de transmission d’informations offre des compensations monétaires aux résidents qui transmettent de l’information contribuant à la résolution de dossiers criminels.  

Le programme de surveillance du voisinage a débuté sa recherche pour trouver un nouveau leader lorsque le président a quitté. Le programme a été une réussite à Ottawa avec 33 nouvelles chapitres qui ont débuté en 2018. Il s’agit d’une manière simple pour les résidents de s’impliquer dans l’augmentation de la cohésion au sein de leur quartier en encourageant les résidents à se connaître et à prendre soin les uns des autres.  

Les membres de notre programme de logements multiples sans criminalité (LMSC) ont continué de travailler avec 14 propriétaires afin d’augmenter la sécurité des propriétés à louer dans la ville. Les membres du programme de LMSC ont effectué 283 inspections en 2018 afin de s’assurer que les immeubles respectaient les normes de sécurité pour augmenter la qualité de vie des résidents.

De plus, l’agent responsable de la prévention du crime par l’aménagement du milieu (PCAM) a évalué 34 propriétés et 51 plans de construction d’immeubles afin d’aider les entreprises et les résidences à augmenter leur sécurité an appliquant des changements mineurs pouvant réduire la possibilité d’être victime d’un crime. La PCAM a aussi tenu, le 10 mai dernier, sa conférence annuelle qui portait principalement sur la sécurité dans les transports publics et le système SRB à venir.

Contactez-nous