Outreach and Recruiting

OUTREACH

In 2018, the Outreach and Recruitment team attended key events around the city in its efforts to find suitable candidates.

Aug-10    RedBlacks Game
Aug-10    Greekfest
Aug-18    Festival             
              Salvadoreno
Aug-19   TribaGO Day 
              South Asian         
              Festival
Aug-21   Eid Festival 
Sep-07   Ottawa Fury
             FC Game
Sep-08   SNMC Mosque
             Career Fair
Oct-13    9RunRun
Oct-17    St. Lawrence
              College Career
              Fair
Oct-18    Eric Czapnik       
              Soccer
              Tournament
Oct-23    Ottawa Sens
              Game
Nov-08    Ottawa Sens
              Game
Nov-15   Careers in
             Criminology &
             Law Fair
Nov-21   Ottawa University
             Information
             Session
Nov-22  Algonquin
            College – Perth
            Campus Career
            Fair
Dec-15  Crossfit NCR
            Information
            Session

A new approach to recruiting is gaining some positive results.

In July 2018, under the direction of Sergeant Maria Keen, the OPS formally created a new Outreach and Recruiting Team (ORT), that would focus on repopulating the Service as it struggled with an increased demand for service from the city’s residents, and a loss of staffing numbers through attrition.

It was an important change.

Over the next five years, the OPS has been directed to fill 500 sworn positions within its ranks, and the ORT’s mandate was to ensure that those new recruits better-reflected the diversity of the city they served and protected.

Additional special information sessions were set up for female-only, LGBTQ-focused, and in-person visits with racialized community associations, to encourage under-represented members of those groups to apply to become an officer.

ORT members became active on social media, helping to educate the public on what it takes to be a great officer. Some out-of-the-box thinking included a virtual ride-along, Q&A sessions online, as well as other forms of engagement. Other services, from as far away as Tennessee, have inquired about how to do similar engagement initiatives.

Five months after its creation, the ORT has identified just over 500 individuals who might become tomorrow’s officers. Eighty of those identified are currently through the first stages of the hiring process.

Additionally, the ORT has introduced a new mentorship program, where applicants are given one-on-one support from the team on how to apply and prepare for the selection process; making them more competitive and giving them a better chance of success.

 

 

Contact Us

Intervention et recrutement

ÉVÉNEMENTS 

En 2018, l’équipe de sensibilisation et de recrutement a assisté à des événements importants autour de la ville afin de recruter des candidats convenables.

10-Août  Match des
              RedBlacks
10-Août  Festival
              grec
18-Août  Festival
              salvadorien
19-Août  Journée
             TribaGO et
             festival
             sud-asiatique
21-Août Festival Eid
7-Sep    Match
            de Ottawa
            Fury FC
8-Sep   Salon de
            l’emploi de la
           mosquée
           SNMC
13-Oct  9RunRun
17-Oct  Salon de
            l’emploi du
            Collège
            St-Lawrence
18-Oct  Tournoi de
            soccer Eric
            Czapnik
23-Oct  Match des
            Senateurs
            d’Ottawa
8-Nov   Match des
            Senateurs
            d’Ottawa
15-Nov  Salon de
            l’emploi en loi
           et criminologie
21-Nov  Séance
           d’information
          de l’Université
          d’Ottawa  
22-Nov  Salon de
            l’emploi du
            Collège
            Algonquin –
            campus de
            Perth
15-Dec  Séance
            d’information
           Crossfit NCR 

Une nouvelle approche concernant le recrutement s’avère très prometteuse.

Au mois de juillet 2018, sous la direction de la sergente Maria Keen, le SPO a formellement créé une nouvelle équipe de sensibilisation et de recrutement (ESR), dont l’objectif était de faire l’acquisition de nouveaux talents afin de palier à la demande du service. La charge de travail devenait de plus en plus lourde compte tenu de l’augmentation des appels de service de la part des résidents de la ville, mais aussi à cause de la perte d’employés partis à la retraite.

Il s’agissait d’un changement important.

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, le SPO doit combler 500 postes de policiers assermentés et le mandat de l’ESR est de s’assurer que les nouvelles recrues reflètent davantage la diversité de la ville desservie et protégée.

Des rencontres spéciales d’information supplémentaire centrées sur la communauté GLBTQ ont été fixées pour les femmes seulement. De plus, des visites personnelles aux associations des communautés racialisées ont été réalisées afin d’encourager les membres sous-représentés de ces groupes à appliquer pour devenir policier.

Les membres de l’ERS sont devenus actifs sur les réseaux sociaux afin d’éduquer le public sur les aptitudes et les compétences nécessaires pour devenir un bon policier. Quelques idées originales soumises incluaient une visite virtuelle, des séances de questions-réponses en ligne en plus d’autres formes de sensibilisation. D’autres services de police, provenant d’aussi loin que le Tennessee, se sont informés sur la manière d’entamer des initiatives de sensibilisation similaires. 

Cinq mois après sa création, l’ERS a identifié plus de 500 personnes qui détenaient le potentiel de devenir les policiers de demain. Quatre-vingts personnes, parmi celles identifiées, sont présentement dans les premières étapes du processus.

De plus, l’ERS a introduit un nouveau programme de mentorat dans lequel les candidats reçoivent un soutien individualisé de la part de l’équipe sur la manière d’appliquer et de se préparer pour le processus de sélection ; dans le but d’être plus compétitif et d’avoir une meilleure chance de réussite.

Contactez-nous