Violence Against Women

As the #MeToo movement gathered strength in 2018, the OPS saw an increase in the number of reports to the Service relating to sexual assault. It was an opportunity for those trained as Sexual Assault Response Officers (SARO) to employ those standardized skills when responding to a victim or survivor of sexual assault. In 2018, several more frontline officers and some external partners (including OC Transpo and the City of Ottawa), were trained in this program, which seeks to provide greater awareness and a more sensitive victim-centred response to these types of incidents.

We also continued work on our pilot project -- Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence Advocate review tables -- which was introduced in 2017. This initiative is an Ottawa-based tailored version of the Philadelphia model which provides the OPS with feedback from our external partners on closed files, as well as suggestions for new ways to better-serve victims of sexual assault.  A Memorandum of Understanding was established with several frontline city agencies that provide direct support to those in need to share their expertise in relation to survivors and victims of violence. The table committee meets twice a year to review files and will help in the longterm development of this program for the OPS.

Additionally, we continued to support our external partners while they underwent changes in 2018. We participated in the annual White Ribbon campaign, which seeks to promote education surrounding domestic violence, as well as Shine the Light and the Moose Hide campaigns.

Contact Us

Violence contre les femmes

Alors que le mouvement #MeToo prenait de l’ampleur en 2018, le SPO a observé une augmentation du nombre de rapports transmis au service en lien avec des agressions sexuelles. Il s’agissait d’une opportunité pour les agents formés de répondre aux situations d’agressions sexuelles (ARAS) et d’employer leurs connaissances normalisées pour aider les victimes ou les survivantes d’agressions sexuelles. En 2018, quelques autres agents de première ligne ainsi que quelques partenaires externes (incluant  OC Transpo et la ville d’Ottawa), ont été formés à ce programme qui vise à offrir aux victimes une réponse plus sensible et consciente suite à ces types d’incidents.  

Nous avons aussi continué à travailler sur notre projet pilote – tableaux consultatifs sur la violence à l’égard des femmes – qui a été introduit en 2017. Cette initiative est une version modifiée du modèle instauré à Philadelphie et qui fournit au SPO un retour de la part des partenaires externes sur les dossiers fermés en plus de conseils permettant de mieux répondre aux besoins des victimes d’agressions sexuelles.  Un protocole d’entente a été établi avec plusieurs services de première ligne qui fournissent du soutien direct à ceux qui ont besoin de partager leur expertise en lien avec les survivantes et les victimes de violence. Le comité se rencontre deux fois par année pour réviser les dossiers et il contribuera au développement à long terme de ce programme pour le SPO.

De plus, nous avons continué à soutenir nos partenaires externes pendant qu’ils subissaient des changements en 2018. Nous avons participé à la campagne annuelle du Ruban Blanc qui vise à éduquer les gens sur la violence contre les femmes en plus des campagnes Shine The Light et Moose Hide.

Contactez-nous