Crime Prevention

The OPS continued in its mandate to leverage crime prevention tools and practices as part of its response to reducing incidents of crime in the city.

The following programs are all part of a broad campaign to increase the safety of Ottawa and its communities:

  • Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design (CPTED), which offers a multi-disciplinary approach for reducing crime through urban and environmental design;
  • Crime Free Multi-Housing program, which connects landlords and property owners to reduce illegal and nuisance activity in a neighbourhood; and
  • Neighbourhood Watch program, with 205 engaged neighbourhoods that invites residents to proactively monitor the health and wellness of their communities. In 2019, the Neighbourhood Watch program added five more groups to the program, which is supported by OPS Community Police Officers.

Additional programs like Safe Guard Your Home launched in 2019, supported by OPS’s volunteers after they went through standardize training developed by the province. This program offers home inspections for residents to enhance their safety and utilizes strategies employed by CPTED. More volunteers are expected to be trained in 2020, under the guidance of Constable Matt Hunt.

We continued our successful partnership with Crime Stoppers, which led to 62 arrests in 2019, up from 24 in 2018, and recovered more than $80,000 in stolen property and over $240,000 in seized narcotics.

The Crime Prevention team, led by Sergeant Art Wong, ran a successful Crime Prevention Week in November, partnering with Crime Prevention Ottawa, Crime Stoppers and Ottawa By-Law Services. The weeklong event had our partners and Community Police Officers out at local area malls to raise awareness on how to improve personal safety.

Prévention du crime

Le SPO a continué de concrétiser son mandat de tirer profit des outils et pratiques de prévention du crime dans le cadre de son intervention visant à réduite les incidents de criminalité dans la ville.

Les programmes suivants font tous partie d’une vaste campagne ayant pour but d’accroître la sécurité à Ottawa et parmi ses communautés :

  • Prévention du crime par l’aménagement du milieu (PCAM), qui propose une approche multidisciplinaire pour réduire la criminalité selon un concept urbain et environnemental;
  • Programme de logements multiples sans criminalité (PLMSC), qui met en lien propriétaires et titulaires d’habitations pour réduire l’activité illicite et nuisible dans un quartier;
  • Le programme Surveillance des quartiers, dont les 205 quartiers participants invitent les résidents à surveiller de manière proactive la santé et le mieux-être de leurs communautés. En 2019, le programme Surveillance des quartiers a ajouté cinq groupes au programme, qui est appuyé par les agents de police communautaire du SPO.

D’autres programmes tels que Protégez votre demeure inauguré en 2019, appuyé par les bénévoles du SPO après qu’ils ont suivi une formation normalisée préparée par la province. Ce programme offre des inspections domiciliaires aux résidents pour rehausser leur sécurité et utilise des stratégies employées par PCAM. Davantage de bénévoles seront formés en 2020, sous la direction du constable Matt Hunt.

Nous avons conservé notre partenariat réussi avec Échec au crime, qui a mené à 62 arrestations en 2019, une hausse par rapport aux 24 compilées en 2018, en plus de recouvrer plus de 80 000 $ de biens volés et plus de 240 000 $ de narcotiques saisis.

L’équipe de Prévention du crime, dirigée par le sergent Art Wong, a connu une Semaine de la prévention du crime réussie en novembre, en s’alliant à Prévention du crime Ottawa, Échec au crime et Services des règlements Ottawa. Durant l’événement qui dure toute une fin de semaine, nos partenaires et les agents de police communautaire ont visité les centres d’achats locaux de la région pour sensibiliser la population à la façon de rehausser la sécurité personnelle.

Contactez-nous