OC Transpo Bus Crash

On January 11, 2019, an OC Transpo bus driver lost control of her vehicle and slammed into the overhang of the bus shelter at the Westboro Transit Station.

In the chaos that followed the crash, officers from the OPS arrived on scene to assist in the initial emergency response and set up.  Despite coordinated efforts of all those responding, three people were killed and 23 were injured, some severely.

As emergency responders from across the city continued to converge on the Westboro Station, the OPS Collision Investigation Unit arrived to established investigative control and to ensure that all pertinent information was captured for the report.

Collision Investigation officers immediately contacted our partners at OC Transpo, Transport Canada and the City of Ottawa to ask them to help with our investigation. This sense of cooperation continued when they reached out for assistance from the RCMP, OPP, the Ministry of Transportation, the Transportation Safety Board, as well as the bus manufacture Alexander Dennis in the UK. This was done to ensure that all relevant expertise was employed to conduct a full forensic investigation of the bus and the collision scene.

In the weeks and months that followed, the 11-member Collision Investigation Unit dug in to complete the investigation process. More than 80 passengers and witnesses had to be interviewed, so an embedded Major Case Management (MCM) officer, the Medical Emergency Response Team (MERT), and four civilians were brought on board to assist. They contacted witnesses, returned property, and helped to move the investigation forward, while coordinating with the Crown to ensure that all documentation was properly completed and vetted for court proceedings.

The events of this day would become the largest fatal collision investigation in Ottawa Police Service history which continued until criminal charges were laid on August 11.

La Collision Impliquant un Autobus d’OC Transpo

Le 11 janvier 2019, la conductrice d’un autobus d’OC Transpo a perdu la maîtrise de son véhicule et enfoncé l’auvent d’un abribus à la gare de Westboro.

Dans le chaos qui a suivi la collision, des agents du SPO sont arrivés sur les lieux pour appuyer les mesures d’intervention d’urgence initiales et de rétablissement. Malgré les efforts coordonnés de tous les intervenants, trois personnes sont perdu la vie et 23 ont été blessées, dont certaines grièvement.

Alors que des intervenants d’urgence des quatre coins de la ville continuaient de converger vers la gare de Westboro, l’Unité des enquêtes sur les collisions du SPO est arrivée sur les lieux pour établir un périmètre d’enquête et s’assurer que tous les renseignements pertinents soient saisis dans le rapport.

Les agents de l’UEC ont immédiatement communiqué avec nos partenaires chez OC Transpo, Transports Canada et la Ville d’Ottawa pour leur demander de participer à l’enquête. Ce sentiment de coopération s’est poursuivi lorsqu’ils ont demandé l’aide de la GRC, de la PPO, du ministère des Transports de l’Ontario, de la Commission de la sécurité dans les transports, ainsi que le fabricant d’autobus Alexander Dennis du Royaume-Uni. La démarche a permis de s’assurer que tout le savoir-faire pertinent soit mis à contribution pour réaliser une enquête médico-légale complète de l’autobus et des lieux de la collision.

Au cours des semaines et des mois qui ont suivi, l’UEC composée de 11 membres a sondé les données pour mener à bien le processus d’enquête. Plus de 80 passagers et témoins ont dû être interrogés, ce qui fait qu’on a demandé à un agent de la Gestion des crimes majeurs (GCM), à l’Équipe des interventions d’urgence médicales (ÉIUM) et à quatre civils de participer. Ils sont communiqué avec les témoins, retourné des biens et aidé l’enquête à progresser, tout en coordonnant avec la Couronne les démarches visant à s’assurer que toute la documentation soit dûment remplie et approuvée par les instances judiciaires.

Les événements de cette journée auront alimenté la plus importante enquête sur une collision fatale de l’histoire du Service de police d’Ottawa qui s’est soldée par l’arrestation de nature criminelle, le 11 août.

Contactez-nous