Regulated Interactions

In March 2016, the Ontario Government introduced Regulation 58/16, under the Police Services Act entitled “Collection of Identifying Information in Certain Circumstances – Prohibition and Duties”, and commonly referred as the “Street Check Regulation”. This new Regulation provides for voluntary police-public interactions, which are designed to ensure that the regulated interactions are without bias or discrimination. It also establishes rules for data collection, retention, access and management, training, and policy and procedures with audit and public reporting requirements. 

The new Regulation applies when police are attempting to collect identifying information from an individual they do not know during a ‘face-to-face’ interaction. The Regulation does not apply when an officer is conducting an investigation into an offence that is reasonably suspected to have been committed or will be committed, or in other circumstances that are specifically outlined in the regulation. The Regulation prohibits attempts to collect identifying information about an individual in ‘face-to-face’ encounters which are arbitrary or where any part of the reason for the attempt is that the officer perceives the individual to be within a “particular racialized group” unless certain other and legitimate conditions exist.

The OPS is in compliance with the prohibition and stands against such practices. We have worked alongside police members and provincial partners to ensure compliance with the new legislative requirements. The new procedures were launched at the OPS on March 28, 2017.  The OPS has ensured that members have completed the eight hour mandatory training developed by the Ontario Police College and a roundtable of provincial subject matter experts.  All new recruits continue to receive the mandatory training.  

In 2019, seven attempted “Regulated Interactions” were recorded. Identifying information was collected from three of the attempts; however, only one attempt met the requirements of a “Regulated Interaction”. For the third consecutive year, the number of regulated interactions is low; however it appears to be consistent across the province.     

With only seven attempted Regulated Interactions and one correct Regulated Interaction, the compiled data is too small to draw any conclusions or identify any patterns. It should be noted that looking at the seven attempts, there is no identifiable “disproportionate” pattern regarding sex, age, race or location.

The OPS is committed to professional and equitable policing. We will continue to work together with the community on street checks and other related initiatives, to ensure policing is without discrimination and performed in a way that promotes public confidence and protects human rights.

Review the Annual Report on Collection of Identifying Information for 2019.

Review Justice Tulloch’s report

Interactions réglementées

En mars 2016, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a introduit la règlementation 58/16, sous la Loi des services policiers nommée « Collecte de renseignements identificatoires dans certaines circonstances – Interdictions et obligations », mais à laquelle on se réfère communément comme « Règlement de contrôle de rue ». Ce nouveau règlement prévoit des interactions volontaires entre le public et les policiers, qui ont été conçues dans le but de s’assurer que les interactions règlementées sont sans biais ni discrimination. Le règlement établit également des règles pour la collecte de données, la conservation, l’accès et la gestion, la formation et les exigences en matière d’audit et de rapports publics. 

La nouvelle règlementation entre en effet lorsque les policiers tentent d’amasser des renseignements identificatoires d’un individu qu’ils ne connaissent pas, au cours d’une interaction en face à face. La règlementation ne s’applique pas lorsqu’un agent effectue une enquête pour une infraction qui est suspectée d’avoir été véritablement commise ou qui sera commise, ou dans d’autres circonstances qui sont spécifiquement mentionnées dans la règlementation. Cette dernière interdit les tentatives de recueille d’information identificatoire sur un individu dans une interaction en face à face où la situation est arbitraire, ou si la tentative est en partie due au fait que l’agent estime que l’individu appartient à un « groupe racialisé particulier », sauf si certaines conditions différentes et légitimes sont réunies.

Le SPO est en conformité avec l’interdiction et s’oppose à de telles pratiques. Nous avons travaillé aux côtés des policiers et de nos partenaires provinciaux pour veiller au respect des nouvelles exigences législatives. Les nouvelles procédures ont été entamées par le SPO le 28 mars 2017. Le SPO s’est assuré que les membres aient complété la formation obligatoire de huit heures, telle qu’élaborée par l’Ontario Police College ainsi que par une table ronde d’experts provinciaux sur le sujet. Les nouvelles recrues continueront à suivre la formation obligatoire.

En 2019, sept (7) tentatives « d’interactions règlementées » ont été enregistrées. Les renseignements identificatoires ont été amassés au cours de trois tentatives ; cependant, seulement une tentative a satisfait aux exigences d’une « Interaction règlementée ». Pour une troisième année consécutive, le nombre d’interactions règlementées demeure faible ; cependant la quantité demeure stable dans l’ensemble de la province.     

Fort de seulement sept tentatives d’interactions règlementées et une seule interaction règlementée conforme, les données rassemblées se révèlent être trop limitées pour tirer des conclusions ou définir des modèles. Notons qu’en examinant les 7 tentatives, aucune tendance « démesurée » n’est décelable en ce qui concerne le sexe, l’âge, la race ou le lieu.

Le SPO attache une importance particulière au professionnalisme et à l’équité au travail de la police. La SPO continuera à travailler avec la collectivité sur les contrôles policiers et autres initiatives apparentées, pour veiller au maintien de l’ordre sans discrimination et de façon à préserver la confiance du public et la protection des droits de l’homme.

Pour visualiser le rapport annuel sur la collecte de renseignements identificatoires pour 2019.

Pour visualiser le rapport du maitre Tulloch.

 

 

Contactez-nous