Sworn Selection Process

Becoming a Police Constable

Please note that the Constable selection process is very competitive and the successful completion of these stages does not guarantee an offer of employment.

The applicant should also review and fill out the Self-Assessment Questionnaire (PDF*) for his/her own information.

1. Meet and greet (not mandatory; upon request by applicant)

2. Complete online application

We are currently updating our online application system and will not be able to accept New Recruit applications through our normal process. In the interim, please use this Survey Monkey form to apply.

3. Pre-background questionnaire

Candidates are required to answer some brief questions related primarily to character and habits, in such areas as work and school experiences, alcohol, drugs, criminal activity, credit record, as well as the ability and willingness to work under the conditions related to policing.

These questions should be answered as accurately as possible, and truthfully, since deliberate misinformation could lead to the candidate being disqualified from the selection process.

4. Blended interview

Our Blended Interview is comprised of local focus questions, value-based questions, as well as essential competency-based questions. Candidates are presented with 10 questions and have 90 minutes to complete the interview. Candidates are also given an additional 30 minutes to complete an essay-style question. The Essential Competency interview is conducted, as per ongoing staffing requirements.

5. Fitness assessment (PREPSuccessful applicants will have one PREP certification reimbursed upon hire.
6. Psychological assessment

7. Employment screening (background investigation)

Applicants that are successful through the interview process may proceed to the background investigation stage. The background investigation may include, but is not limited to, reference checks, verification of educational documents, verification of employment history and credit checks. Part of the background is further supplemented with a psychological assessment, which includes an interview with a psychologist.

Information is collected throughout the selection process to determine whether an applicant possesses the competencies of a police constable for the Ottawa Police Service.

8. Selection and Letter of Offer

All of the information collected from the previous stages of the selection process is reviewed and compared to the selection criteria.  A conditional offer of employment may be made to qualified applicants. This offer will be conditional on a medical examination. Successful candidates will be required to undergo a probationary period, and complete all mandated training.

  • The successful completion of any phase of this process does not guarantee proceeding to the next phase.
  • Upon being selected and signing a job offer the applicant must be willing to attend training at the Ontario Police College in Aylmer, Ontario for a period of 13 weeks. The applicant will also be personally responsible for paying a sum of $14,550 towards the training costs levied by the Ontario Police College.
  • The OPS is an equal opportunity employer, and readily acknowledges that a diverse population is best served by a similar diversity of police and civilian membership.

9. Medical assessment (hearing and vision)

Vision: Uncorrected Visual Acuity should be at least 6/12 (20/40) binocularly (both eyes open). Corrected Visual Acuity should at least be 6/6 (20/20) binocularly. There are additional minimum requirements regarding refractive surgery, farsightedness (hyperopia), colour vision, depth perception and peripheral vision.

 

Hearing Standards: Normal hearing at frequencies of 500 to 4000 Hz measured by audiometer. 

 


All applicants must:

  • meet the minimum hiring standards*
  • adhere to the minimum standard of hearing and vision requirements
  • complete Standard First Aid and CPR-C prior to hire

*Minimum Hiring Standards

  • Canadian citizen or permanent resident
  • At least 18 years of age
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Full G Ontario Driver's Licence or provincial equivalent

Contact Us

Processus de sélection des policiers assermentés

Devenir policier

Il est important de noter que le processus de sélection des policiers est très compétitif et que le fait de compléter chaque étape avec succès ne garantit pas une offre d’emploi.

Le postulant doit aussi étudier et remplir le Questionnaire d’autoévaluation (PDF*) pour son information personnelle.

1. Séance d'accueil

2. Remplir le formulaire de candidature en ligne

Nous actualisons présentement notre système de candidature en ligne et ne pourrons accepter de candidatures de nouvelles recrues par la voie normale. Entretemps, merci d'employer à cette fin ce formulaire de Survey Monkey.

3. Questionnaire préliminaire sur les antécédents

Les candidats devront répondre à quelques questions brèves en lien avec leur caractère et leurs habitudes dans des domaines tels que le travail, l’école, l’alcool, les drogues, les activités criminelles et l’utilisation du crédit. D’autres questions seront aussi posées sur leurs habiletés et leur volonté à travailler sous des conditions particulières en lien avec le métier de policier.

Ces questions doivent être répondues avec un maximum d’exactitude et de véracité, puisque fournir de mauvaises informations volontairement pourrait entrainer la disqualification du candidat du processus de sélection.

4. Entrevue mixte

Nous avons récemment modifié le volet « entrevue » de notre processus de candidature. Il s’agit désormais d’une entrevue mixte, comportant des questions sur les réalités locales, des questions sur les valeurs et des questions axées sur les compétences essentielles. Dix questions seront présentées aux candidats, qui disposeront alors de 90 minutes pour achever l’entrevue. Le candidat disposera également de 30 minutes supplémentaires pour répondre à une question à développement.

L’entrevue sur les compétences essentielles est effectuée selon les exigences du personnel.

5. Test d'aptitude physique (PREP) À l'embauche, les candidats retenus obtiendront un remboursement de leurs frais de preparation.

6. Évaluation psychologique

7. Présélection (vérification d'antécédents)

Les candidats qui réussissent l’entrevue peuvent procéder à l’enquête des antécédents. L’enquête peut inclure, mais ne se limite pas aux vérifications des références, à la vérification des documents liés à la formation scolaire, à la vérification de l’historique des emplois occupés et à la vérification du crédit. Une part de l’enquête sur les antécédents est évaluée par le biais d’une entrevue avec un psychologue.

L’information est amassée tout au long du processus de sélection afin de déterminer si un candidat dispose des compétences nécessaires pour devenir policier au sein du Service de police d’Ottawa.

8. Sélection et lettre d'offre

Toute l’information amassée dans les étapes précédentes est révisée et comparée aux critères de sélection. Une offre conditionnelle d’emploi peut être effectuée aux candidats qualifiés. Cette offre est conditionnelle au résultat d’un examen médical. Les candidats qui réussissent cet examen seront sujets à une période de probation et devront compléter l’ensemble de la formation nécessaire.

  • La réussite d’une étape de ce processus ne garantit pas que le candidat poursuivra automatiquement à l’étape suivante.
  • Lorsqu’un candidat est sélectionné et qu’il accepte une offre d’emploi, il doit suivre une formation obligatoire de 13 semaines au Collège de police de l’Ontario à Aylmer en Ontario. Le candidat sera aussi responsable d’acquitter personnellement la somme de 14,550 $ pour les frais de formation au Collège de police de l’Ontario.
  • Le SPO est un employeur équitable envers tous les candidats et il reconnait qu’une population diversifiée est mieux servie si son effectif policier et civil est tout aussi diversifié.  

9. Attestation médicale (vue et ouïe)

Vision: L'acuité visuelle non corrigée doit être d'au moins 6/12 (20/40) binoculairement (les deux yeux ouverts). L'acuité visuelle corrigée doit être d'au moins 6/6 (20/20) binoculairement. Il y a d'autres exigences minimales relatives à la chirurgie réfractive, l'hypermétropie, la vision des couleurs, la perception de la profondeur et la vision périphérique.

 

Normes relatives à l'ouïe: Audition normale à des fréquences de 500 à 4000 Hz mesurées par audiomètre. 

 


Tous les candidats doivent :

  • répondre aux normes d'embauche minimales*
  • répondre aux normes minimales de l'ouïe et de la vue
  • compléter les formations en Secourisme général et en RCR classe C doivent être terminées avec succès avant l'embauche

*Normes d'embauche minimales :

  • Citoyenneté canadienne ou résidence permanente
  • Être âgé d'au moins 18 ans
  • Diplôme d'études secondaires ou l'équivalent
  • Permis de conduire G de l'Ontario, ou équivalent d'une autre province

Contactez-nous