Sexual Assault Resources

Support Agencies

Legal Support

Support Agencies for Men

Support Agencies for Child and Youth

Shelters

Ottawa Police Service: Victim Crisis Unit

Ottawa Police Service: Victim Services

Victim/Witness Assistance

Crime Prevention Ottawa Toolkit

 

Amendments to the Residential Tenancies Act (RTA) came into effect on September 8, 2016.

The amendments: 

  • Shorter notice period to end a rental tenancy agreement for people experiencing sexual or domestic violence, to make it easier for survivors to flee abuse. Get legal info about Ontario and details about Quebec  

 

Support Agencies

  • 211 Call 211 or visit their website to find the right community and social services. Free. Confidential. Live answer 24/7
  • Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre (ORCC) Phone:  613-562-2333 Office Telephone Line: 613-562-2334 
  • The Sexual Assault Support Centre of Ottawa Phone:  613-725-2160  
  • CENTRE D'AIDE ET DE LUTTE CONTRE LES AGRESSIONS À CARACTÉRE SEXUEL (CALACS)  Phone: 613-789-8096
  • Family Services Ottawa (FSOPhone: 613-725-3601 ext. 0
  • Catholic Family Service Ottawa/Service familial catholique Ottawa (services in English and French) 613-233-8478.
  • PROGRAMME POUR FEMMES D'EXPRESSION PRANÇAISE AYANT VÉCU DES AGRESSIONS À CARACTÈRE SEXUEL CFS/SFC Ottawa 613-233-0848
  • Centre For Treatment of Sexual Abuse and Childhood Trauma Phone: 613-233-4929  
  • Ottawa Coalition To End Violence Against Women (OCTEVAW) OCTEVAW is a coalition of organizations and individuals dedicated to ending violence against women and, through leadership, education, advocacy and political action, to promoting a coordinated response to women and their children who have experienced abuse. Phone: 613-237-1000 
  • The Sexual Assault Network (SAN)
  • VAW Learning Network

Legal Support 

Support Agencies for Men Survivors of Sexual Assault

  • CFS/SFC Ottawa (and partner agencies Family Services Ottawa, Jewish Family services , Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health) in Ottawa Phone: 613-233-8478 (24/7 Information and Referral Services:  1-866-887-0015)
  •  New Directions - Catholic Family Services Program Offers one-to-one and group counselling, in both English and French, for male survivors of either historical or more recent sexual abuse.  All services are free. Clients can call the intake department at 613-233-8478, ext. 239 for more information or to schedule an appointment. Partnered in Ottawa with Family Services Ottawa and Jewish Family Services.

 

Support Agencies for Child and Youth

  • CHEO for Adolescent and Preadolescent Survivors of Sexual Assault Those who have been sexually assaulted and are 17 years and younger should access the Ottawa Regional Pediatric Sexual Abuse/Assault Care Program found at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO). Phone: 613-737-2329 (ER Direct Line)
  •  Centre For Treatment of Sexual Abuse and Childhood Trauma Phone: 613-233-4929
  •  The Ottawa Hospital Sexual Assault/Partner Abuse Care Program The Ottawa Regional Sexual Assault Partner Abuse Care Program is a program providing individualized services to any person 16 years and older who have recently been sexually assaulted. Phone: 613-798-5555 x 13770 
  • CFS/SFC OttawaThe Child & Youth Witness Support Program (CYWSP) provides information, assistance and support to children and youth (and their families) who are required to provide testimony in criminal court (victims and witnesses). 613-233-8478

 

Shelters

Ottawa shelters:

 

Ottawa-area shelters:

 

Other Eastern Ontario Shelters for Abused Women:

 

Ottawa Police Service: Victim Crisis Unit (VCU)

The Victim Crisis Unit (VCU) is dedicated to providing professional assistance and crisis counselling to victims of crime or tragic circumstances. The VCU contacts victims within a short time frame of filing a report. The VCU also ensures that victims have access to the many resources and programs offered in the Ottawa Area.   Victims are also offered the Victim Quick Response Program for referrals to long term supports. The Victim Crisis Unit is staffed with professional Crisis Counsellors who are available to help if you are in need of support or have any questions with regards to being victimized or suffering from tragic circumstances.

Victims who contact the VCU can expect a risk and needs assessment by a trained professional crisis counselor. Crisis Counselors may also provide victims with crisis and post trauma counseling, information about the criminal justice system, support, advocacy, and referrals.

Victim Crisis Unit

Phone: 613-236-1222 ext. 2223

 

Ottawa Victim Services (OVS)

The Ottawa Police Service's Victim Crisis Unit works in partnership with Ottawa Victim Services. OVS offers support for individuals who have been victimized as a result of crime or tragic circumstances. Support is provided by professional staff and trained volunteers by telephone, on-scene and at their victim services office. Clients can access services through referrals from community service agencies, the Police or self-referrals.

OVS also offers Victim Crisis and Referral Services (VCARS). VCARS is a program that consists of community volunteers in partnership with VCARS staff assisting Police and community service providers in meeting short-term practical and emotional needs of individuals who have been victimized as a result of a crime or tragic circumstance, and their longer-term needs by referral to appropriate existing community agencies.

Phone: 613-238-2762

 

Victim / Witness Assistance

  • The Victim/Witness Assistance Program (VWAP) is a government-funded service that provides information, assistance and support in regards to the court process for certain victims (sexual assault survivors) and witnesses of crime. The VWAP is located within most courthouses across the province. Phone: 613-239-0451 Email: OVSS.East.Region@ontario.ca
  • Criminal Injuries Compensation Board (CICB) Victims who have been injured by a violent crime in Ontario may be eligible for financial compensation through the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board.

 

Crime Prevention Ottawa Toolkit

 

 

Contact Us

Guide à l’intention du survivant d’agression sexuelle

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur la location à usage d'habitation (LLUH) sont entrées en vigueur le 8 septembre 2016. Les modifications : écourtent le délai de préavis pour mettre fin à un contrat de location pour les personnes victimes de violence familiale ou à caractère sexuel. L'objectif est d'aider les survivants à fuir la violence. Cliquez sur les liens pour obtenir des informations juridiques concernant l'Ontario et des détails sur la situation au Québec.  

Organismes de soutien

  • 211  Faites le 211 ou consultez leur site Web pour trouver les services communautaires et sociaux qui vous intéressent. Gratuit. Confidentiel. Réponse en direct, tous les jours 24 heures sur 24.
  • Lignes de crise pour les femmes victimes de violence, tous les jours 24 heures sur 24. - 613-745-4818
  • Fem`aide - 1-877-336-2433 
  • Ligne de soutien pour femmes violentées - 1-866-863-0511 - ATS : 1-866-863-7868)
  • Obtenez de l'aide pour vous ou une amie - Ressources de la COCVFF
  • Centre d'aide aux victimes de viol d'Ottawa (ORCC) - Téléphone : 613-562-2333 Ligne téléphonique du bureau : 613-562-2334 
  • Le Centre d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle d'Ottawa -  Téléphone :  613-725-2160  
  • CENTRE D'AIDE ET DE LUTTE CONTRE LES AGRESSIONS À CARACTÈRE SEXUEL (CALACS) Téléphone : 613-789-8096
  • Services à la famille Ottawa (SFOTéléphone : 613 725-3601, poste 0
  • Service familial catholique Ottawa / Catholic Family Service Ottawa (services en français et en anglais) 613-233-8478.
  • PROGRAMME POUR FEMMES D'EXPRESSION FRANÇAISE AYANT VÉCU DES AGRESSIONS À CARACTÈRE SEXUEL CFS/SFC Ottawa 613-233-0848
  • Centre de traitement des abus sexuels et des traumatismes de l'enfance ( site en anglais) Téléphone : 613-233-4929  
  • La Coalition d'Ottawa pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes (COCVFF)- La COCVFF est une coalition d'organismes et de personnes qui travaillent à mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes et, par le biais d'initiatives de leadership, de sensibilisation, de défense des droits et de l'action politique, à promouvoir des interventions coordonnées pour les femmes et leurs enfants qui ont été victimes d'abus. Téléphone : 613-237-1000 
  • Réseau d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle (SAN) (site en anglais)
  • Réseau d'apprentissage VAW (site en anglais)
  • Pas bien chez soi

Services d'aide juridique

Organismes de soutien pour les hommes ayant survécu à une agression sexuelle

  • CFS/SFC Ottawa(et organismes partenaires : Services à la famille Ottawa, Services à la famille juive, Centre Wabano de santé des autochtones) à Ottawa Téléphone :  613-233-8478 (Services d'information et d'orientation, tous les jours, 24 heures sur 24 : 1-866-887-0015) 
  • Un pas vers le changement - Programme du Service familial catholique offre des services de counselling individuel et de groupe, en anglais et en français, aux hommes ayant survécu à des abus sexuels de longue date ou plus récents. Tous les services sont gratuits. Les clients peuvent communiquer avec le service d'accueil au 613-233-8478, poste 239, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou pour prendre rendez-vous. En partenariat à Ottawa avec les Services à la famille Ottawa et les Services à la famille juive.

Organismes de soutien pour les enfants et les adolescents

Refuges

Refuges à Ottawa :

Refuges de la région d'Ottawa :

Autres refuges de l'Est de l'Ontario pour les femmes victimes de violence :

L’Unité de soutien aux victimes (USV) du Service de police d'Ottawa

L'Unité de soutien aux victimes (USV) a pour mission de fournir une aide professionnelle et des conseils en cas de crise aux victimes d'actes criminels ou de tragédies. L'USV communique avec les victimes dans un court délai après le dépôt d'un rapport. Elle s'assure également que les victimes ont accès aux nombreuses ressources et programmes offerts dans la région d'Ottawa. Ces dernières ont également accès au Programme d'intervention rapide auprès des victimes, qui les oriente vers des services de soutien à long terme. L'Unité d'aide aux victimes en situation de crise est composée de conseillères et conseillers professionnels qui peuvent aider toute personne qui a besoin de soutien ou qui a des questions concernant une victimisation ou une tragédie.

Les victimes qui rejoignent l'USV peuvent s'attendre à une évaluation des risques et des besoins par une conseillère ou un conseiller en crise professionnel qualifié. Ces personnes peuvent également leur fournir des conseils en matière de crise et de post-traumatisme, des renseignements sur le système de justice pénale ainsi que des services de soutien, de défense et d’aiguillage vers les ressources.

Unité de soutien aux victimes

Téléphone : 613 236-1222, poste 2223

Services aux victimes d’Ottawa (SVO)

L'Unité de soutien aux victimes du Service de police d'Ottawa travaille en partenariat avec les Services aux victimes d'Ottawa. Les SVO offrent de l'aide aux personnes qui ont été victimisées à la suite d'un acte criminel ou d'une tragédie. Un personnel professionnel et des bénévoles compétents apportent leur soutien par téléphone, sur place et dans leurs bureaux. Les clientes et clients peuvent accéder aux services en étant orientés par des organismes de services communautaires, par la police ou en s'adressant personnellement à ces organismes.

Les SVO dispensent également des Services de gestion de crise et d'orientation pour les victimes (SGCOV). Il s'agit d'un programme où œuvrent des bénévoles de la communauté qui, en partenariat avec le personnel, aident le Service de police et les fournisseurs de services communautaires à répondre aux besoins pratiques et émotionnels à court terme des personnes qui ont été victimes d’actes criminels ou de tragédies, et à leurs besoins à plus long terme en les orientant vers les organismes communautaires appropriés.

Téléphone : 613-238-2762

Aide aux victimes et aux témoins

  • Le Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins - Le (PAVT) est un service financé par le gouvernement qui fournit des renseignements, de l'aide et du soutien en ce qui concerne le processus judiciaire pour certaines victimes (qui ont survécu à des agressions sexuelles) et certains témoins d'actes criminels. Le PAVT est dispensé dans la plupart des palais de justice de la province. Téléphone : 613-239-0451 Courriel :  OVSS.East.Region@ontario.ca
  • Commission d’indemnisation des victimes d’actes criminels (CIVAC) -  La Commission d’indemnisation des victimes d’actes criminels (CIVAC) établit les indemnités financières à accorder aux victimes d’actes de violence criminels commis en Ontario.

Trousse de Prévention du crime Ottawa