Automatic Licence Plate Recognition

Automatic Licence Plate Recognition

The Ottawa Police Service uses an Automatic Licence Plate Recognition (ALPR) vehicle, a device which helps police ensure road safety by identifying a variety of Highway Traffic Act (HTA) infractions, including stolen licence plates and suspended or unlicensed drivers.

This piece of technology has been an enormous help in identifying drivers who should not be on the road.

An ALPR can identify:

  • Stolen licence plates
  • Misuse of plates
  • Driving whilst disqualified (CC)
  • Driving whilst suspended (HTA)
  • Unlicensed driver
  • Expired validation
  • Persons wanted on warrant

It can also alert officers of the presence of vehicles involved in serious crimes or wanted in instances of Amber Alerts..

The system views licence plates and compares them to a provincial database. If any irregularities are found, it alerts the officer. The system can view up to 5000 plates an hour, and is also in use by other police services in Canada.

“The Ottawa Police abide by privacy guidelines, based on our consultation with the Ontario Privacy Commissioner,” said Sgt. Robert Cairns, Escort and Traffic Support Services. “Non-hit vehicles will be deleted from the database immediately; whereas positive hits will be retained for five years on the system for disclosure purposes.”

Ottawa Police first began using ALPR technology in 2016.

Funding for the purchase of the ALPR units has come from the Safer Roads Ottawa Program.

Contact Us

Système de reconnaissance de plaques d’immatriculation

Reconnaissance de plaques d’immatriculation

Le Service de police d’Ottawa emploie un système de reconnaissance de plaques d’immatriculation (SRPI), appareil qui aide les policiers à veiller sur la sûreté routière en dépistant une gamme d’infractions au Code de la route, dont les plaques d’immatriculation volées et les conducteurs sans permis ou sous le coup d’une suspension.

Cette technologie a grandement contribué à l’identification de conducteurs qui ne devraient pas être au volant.

Un SRPI est en mesure d’identifier :

  • Plaques d’immatriculation volées
  • Mauvais usage de plaques
  • Conduite sous le coup d’une interdiction (Code criminel)
  • Conduite sous le coup d’une suspension de permis (Code de la route)
  • Conducteur sans permis
  • Validation périmée
  • Personnes recherchées en vertu d’un mandat d’arrestation

Il peut aussi alerter les agents à la présence de véhicules mêlés à des crimes graves ou recherchés en cas d’alerte Amber.

L’appareil relève les numéros de plaque et interroge une base de données provinciale à leur sujet. Si des irrégularités sont détectées, l’agent en est avisé. Le système peut traiter jusqu’à 5000 plaques par heure, et il est également employé par plusieurs autres services policiers canadiens.

« La Police d’Ottawa respecte de strictes directives en matière de confidentialité, en vertu de sa consultation auprès du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario, » a indiqué le sergent Cairns. « Les véhicules non pertinents sont immédiatement éliminés de la base de données, tandis que les réponses pertinentes sont conservées au sein du système pendant cinq ans, pour fins de divulgation. »

C’est en 2016 que la Police d’Ottawa adopta la technologie SRPI.

L’achat des appareils SRPI fut financé par le Programme d’amélioration de la sécurité des routes à Ottawa.

Contactez-nous